Metallica Announce New Album ‘Hardwired…To Self-Destruct’ – Hear The Title Track

It’s been 8 long years since Metallica released their last album, Death Magnetic. But their fans’ patience has finally paid off: The band is releasing their new album, Hardwired… To Self-Destruct, this November! The announcement also comes with confirmation of the 12-song tracklist as well as a first listen of their lead single, “Hardwired.”

“Hardwired” is an energetic song with blasting drums and spitted lyrics. You can hear traces of Metallica’s very first album, Kill ‘Em All, as well as some Slayer elements, in its straightforward, unrelenting intensity. The music video fits the song’s mood, as close-up shots of the band members flash across the screen. It’s chaotic, making it nearly impossible to get a clear image of what’s going on. It’s reminiscent of their video for “Enter Sandman.”

Watch the music video for “Hardwired” below:

Metallica’s new album includes 12 new songs. See the full tracklist below:

Disc One

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Am I Savage?
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

  1. Confusion
  2. Dream No More
  3. ManUNkind
  4. Here Comes Revenge
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out The Bone

There’s also a deluxe version that includes riffs that were the origins of Hardwired… To Self-Destruct:

  1. Lords Of Summer
  2. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)
  3. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)
  4. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)
  5. Plow (Riff Origins)
  6. Sawblade (Riff Origins)
  7. RIP (Riff Origins)
  8. Lima (Riff Origins)
  9. 91 (Riff Origins)
  10. MTO (Riff Origins)
  11. RL72 (Riff Origins)
  12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)
  13. CHI (Riff Origins)
  14. X Dust (Riff Origins)

You can pre-order Hardwired… To Self-Destruct at Metallica’s official website now. You have the choice between digital downloads, CD sets, vinyl, and a box set with both CD and vinyl. Both digital and CD also give you the option to get the standard edition or deluxe edition. You will get an instant download of “Hardwired” when you pre-order.

Metallica’s new album will be out on November 18, 2016. It will be exciting to have the kings of metal back! Hardwired… To Self-Destruct is their first album in 8 years, but it looks like the wait was worth it. Keep checking back here for all the latest Metallica music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.