Kelly Clarkson Covers “It’s Quiet Uptown” For ‘Hamilton’ Compilation

If you’re not yet a fan of the hugely successful new Broadway musical, Hamilton, you will be soon. After record-breaking advance box office sales and award nominations, an album of some of the musical’s best songs is set to be released next month. The Hamilton Mixtape will include covers of the song by a variety of stars, ranging from Usher to Regina Spektor. We can get a taste of the new Hamilton recordings with Kelly Clarkson’s haunting cover of “It’s Quiet Uptown.” The ballad has an R&B vibe that complements the sad, unimaginable subject.

Kelly Clarkson said that recording the song was difficult. The lyrics describe the grief the musical’s characters feel after the death of their son. Incidentally, Kelly was pregnant with her second child, a son name Remy, when she recorded her cover.

Listen to Kelly’s cover of “It’s Quiet Uptown” below:

It’s on the new compilation album, The Hamilton Mixtape. The star-studded record includes performances from Alicia Keys, Sia, John Legend, Wiz Khalifa, and more. Pre-order now and get an instant download of “It’s Quiet Uptown.” The album will be released on December 2nd.

You can see the full tracklist of The Hamilton Mixtape below:

  1. No John Trumbull (Intro) — The Roots
  2. My Shot (Rise Up Remix) — The Roots feat. Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz, and Nate Ruess
  3. Wrote My Way Out — Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Aloe Blacc
  4. Wait For It — Usher
  5. An Open Letter (Interlude) — Watsky feat. Shockwave
  6. Satisfied – Sia feat. Miguel and Queen Latifah
  7. Dear Theodosia — Regina Spektor feat. Ben Folds
  8. Valley Forge (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  9. It’s Quiet Uptown — Kelly Clarkson
  10. That Would Be Enough — Alicia Keys
  11. Immigrants (We Get The Job Done) — K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, Residente
  12. You’ll Be Back — Jimmy Fallon and The Roots
  13. Helpless — Ashanti feat. Ja Rule
  14. Take A Break (Interlude) — !llmind
  15. Say Yes To This — Jill Scott
  16. Congratulations — Dessa
  17. Burn — Andra Day
  18. Stay Alive (Interlude) — J.PERIOD and Stro Elliot
  19. Slavery Battle (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  20. Washingtons By Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
  21. History Has Its Eyes On You — John Legend
  22. Who Tells Your Story — The Roots feat. Common and Ingrid Michaelson
  23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) — Chance The Rapper and Francis and The Lights

Meanwhile, Kelly Clarkson is currently recording her upcoming 7th album and her first with Atlantic Records. She says it will be a soulful record rather than the rock pop fans are used to hearing from her. The album is expected out next spring. Kelly also just released her first children’s book, River Rose And The Magical Lullaby. Keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.