Watch Remarkable Music Video For “Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)”

Following wild success for the musical Hamilton, six months ago we got to hear The Hamilton Mixtape, an album of reimagined songs from the musical but sung by popular artists. Among them is “Immigrants (We Get The Job Done),” co-written and recorded by K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, and Residente. Today, that album highlight gets a stunning new music video featuring each of the singers, each representing the immigrant experience.

“Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)” starts with a radio announcer talking about border security in the US, pointing out how in America, “a country founded by immigrants, ‘immigrant’ has somehow become a bad word.” But do we have freedom? Not yet.

K’naan sings the first verse, describing the 2-3 jobs immigrants have and how they are forced to live in tiny apartments with too many roommates. Instead of harshly judging immigrants, though, he suggests that you “see the world with new eyes.” Snow Tha Product takes up the second verse, describing the racists who make life worse and how her people are continuously ignored. As she points out, immigrants are “America’s ghost writers.” Riz MC and Residente round out the song, making its statement strong.

The music video opens with people huddling on a train moving through the cold night. But this is no passenger train, and the accommodations aren’t very comfortable for its riders. In turn, we see K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, and Residente rap their parts, surrounded by immigrant compatriots to drive home the message. In between, we see shots of immigrants performing the work that citizens usually refuse: picking fruit, sewing clothes, working as a butcher. The imagery is clear, and a moving portrayal of how hard immigrants work, only to be mistreated by born-and-raised citizens.

Watch the music video for “Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)” below:

“Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)” appears on The Hamilton Mixtape, released last December. You can stream or purchase the album at all the major music providers here. The album also includes impressive contributions by Kelly Clarkson (“It’s Quiet Uptown”), Alicia Keys (“That Would Be Enough”), John Legend (“History Has Its Eyes On You”), and more.

Check out the full tracklist for The Hamilton Mixtape below:

  1. No John Trumbull (Intro) — The Roots
  2. My Shot (Rise Up Remix) — The Roots feat. Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz, and Nate Ruess
  3. Wrote My Way Out — Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Aloe Blacc
  4. Wait For It — Usher
  5. An Open Letter (Interlude) — Watsky feat. Shockwave
  6. Satisfied – Sia feat. Miguel and Queen Latifah
  7. Dear Theodosia — Regina Spektor feat. Ben Folds
  8. Valley Forge (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  9. It’s Quiet Uptown — Kelly Clarkson
  10. That Would Be Enough — Alicia Keys
  11. Immigrants (We Get The Job Done) — K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, Residente
  12. You’ll Be Back — Jimmy Fallon and The Roots
  13. Helpless — Ashanti feat. Ja Rule
  14. Take A Break (Interlude) — !llmind
  15. Say Yes To This — Jill Scott
  16. Congratulations — Dessa
  17. Burn — Andra Day
  18. Stay Alive (Interlude) — J.PERIOD and Stro Elliot
  19. Slavery Battle (Demo) — Lin-Manuel Miranda
  20. Washingtons By Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
  21. History Has Its Eyes On You — John Legend
  22. Who Tells Your Story — The Roots feat. Common and Ingrid Michaelson
  23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) — Chance The Rapper and Francis and The Lights

Latest K’naan News

It’s been a few years since we heard new music from K’naan. His last album, Country, God, Or The Girl, came out five years ago. It launched singles like “Is Anybody Out There?” (featuring Nelly Furtado) and “Hurt Me Tomorrow.”

Since then, K’naan has spent much of his recent time developing a TV series called Mogadishu, Minnesota. Himself an immigrant from Mogadishu, Somalia, K’naan has written, directed, and executive produced this show with the intention of highlighting the immigrant experience of Somalis in America. The HBO series was ordered to pilot one year ago, with filming occurring last winter. However, the show has been met with scrutiny, with some Somali Americans concerned about how they’ll be portrayed in the show. There’s no word yet on when the pilot episode will air.

But K’naan hasn’t completely switched careers! In addition to exploring the television world, K’naan is also working on new music. Three months ago, K’naan was in the studio with Jim Jonsin:


In April, K’naan was teasing new songs that aren’t out yet, confirming that he’s writing “a little somethin something” that way may get to hear soon. The new songs may include his sequel to “Until The Lion Learns To Speak,” a track from his first album.

At this point, it’s unclear when we’ll finally get to see (and hear!) the fruits of K’naan’s labor. We’re excited to hear some new music from him and see how his debut TV series goes.

Enjoy the video for “Immigrants (We Get The Job Done),” and keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.