Avril Lavigne Shares Clips Of “Bigger Wow,” “Love Me Insane,” & “Warrior”

Avril Lavigne’s long-awaited new album, Head Above Water, will be out in just over a week! Following stunning singles “Head Above Water” and “Tell Me It’s Over,” Avril is now teasing song clips as we count down these last few days. Today, Avril shared snippets of the album’s last three songs: “Bigger Wow,” “Love Me Insane,” and “Warrior.”

“Bigger Wow” is one of the songs we know least about on Head Above Water. As Avril describes in her post caption, “This song is about living your best life. If you’re not getting what you desire and deserve then go find yourself a Bigger Wow!!! Don’t settle for less than what your deserve #askandyoushallreceive :)”

The song sounds upbeat and light. Over strummed guitar and a strong drum beat, Avril sings, “I just want a bigger wow. I’m not complaining. If you throw me up I won’t come down. Just say you’re waiting for me.” Listen to a preview of “Bigger Wow” below:


Next up is “Love Me Insane.” This one sounds the most similar to Avril’s last single, “Tell Me It’s Over,” building on a soulful, old-school soundscape. Strings and finger snaps form the musical basis here, while Avril stretches her voice in ways fans have never heard before. Avril sings, “So baby let’s go insane, insane. Yeah, you make me lose my brain, my brain.”

Avril explained how she came up with “Love Me Insane”: “I wrote this song on the piano in my living room in Los Angeles – it’s about daring oneself to risk falling in love again. Embracing the opportunity of love. Love can be scary – but it’s better to have loved than have not at all. I had the wonderful @TheLaurenChristy help me afterwards and produce the track with @JonTheRabbi. I love their production. It’s super chill and vibey. #jumpbitch.” Hear “Love Me Insane” below:


Finally, fans finally get to hear a preview of “Warrior,” the title we’ve known the longest since Avril shared it in late 2016. As Avril explained, “This is one of the first songs I wrote for the album after ‘Head Above Water.’ They are both about the health battle I continue to fight every day. I hope my songs can help you find strength if you need it…”

Avril continued: “I produced this track, @CBaseford engineered, Chad [Kroeger] and @TravisWeTheKings helped me finish it. I had a lot of great people around me helping me to make music again.”

Musically and thematically, “Warrior” is similar to “Head Above Water.” It features piano and strings over drums, while Avril sings, “Cause I’m a warrior. I’ll fight for my life, like a soldier, all through the night. And I won’t give up; I will survive. I’m a warrior.” Listen to the song preview below:


“Bigger Wow,” “Love Me Insane,” and “Warrior” will all appear on Avril Lavigne’s upcoming 6th album, Head Above Water. Featuring 12 new songs, the album will be out  in just one week on February 15th. Pre-order it now to get instant downloads of the first two singles, “Head Above Water” and “Tell Me It’s Over.” Find streaming, digital, and physical options here. Avril’s official site also includes several merch bundles.

What do you think of the three new song clips? Which one is your favorite? Which one was the most unexpected? Let us know your thoughts below!

More Avril Lavigne News

We expect that Avril will share previews of the other songs in the coming days as well. Get ready to finally hear snippets of the remaining seven songs. See the full Head Above Water tracklist below:

  1. Head Above Water
  2. Birdie
  3. I Fell In Love With The Devil
  4. Tell Me It’s Over
  5. Dumb Blonde
  6. It Was In Me
  7. Souvenir
  8. Crush
  9. Goddess
  10. Bigger Wow
  11. Love Me Insane
  12. Warrior

While we await the rest of the song previews – and, of course, the full album! – you can enjoy Avril’s first two singles. Check out “Head Above Water” and “Tell Me It’s Over” as we get through this last week. You can also catch up on all that went into making the comeback album. Keep checking back here for all the latest Avril Lavigne music news. Get ready to hear all of Head Above Water on February 15th.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.