Hear “Fire” From Sara Bareilles’s Upcoming Album, ‘Amidst The Chaos’

Two days ago, Sara Bareilles announced that her album, Amidst The Chaos, will come out on April 5th. Fans can pre-order the album now. In addition to an instant download of the record’s first single, “Armor,” fans also get a new song, “Fire.”

“Fire” starts with a cappella humming before launching into a rootsy, brutally honest song. Sara describes walking away from a loveless relationship that was never going to work out. Rather, she knows she wants much more than this guy had to offer; she wants deeper waters and a fiery connection. It’s a different sound for her – rooted more in guitar than piano – but one that suites Sara well.

Sara already filmed the music video for “Fire” earlier this month, so the video should be out very soon! For now, listen to the audio below:

You can pre-order her new album, Amidst The Chaos, now. The album will include 12 new songs (which of the 13 songs Sara recorded didn’t make the cut?). Check out the full tracklisting below:

  1. Fire
  2. No Such Thing
  3. Armor
  4. If I Can’t Have You
  5. Eyes On You
  6. Miss Simone
  7. Wicked Love
  8. Orpheus
  9. Poetry By Dead Men
  10. Someone Who Loves Me
  11. Saint Honesty
  12. A Safe Place To Land (feat. John Legend) 

“Armor” and “Fire” serve as the first two singles on the album. In a recent Twitter Q&A, Sara revealed that the album’s title comes from the eighth song, “Orpheus.” The album’s final song, “A Safe Place To Land,” sounds strangely similar to a song from Sara’s 2015 themed album, What’s Inside: Songs From Waitress. It features John Legend, with whom Sara starred in Jesus Christ Superstar last year.

Amidst The Chaos was produced by T Bone Burnett. Fittingly, the new music has a rootsy sound and will touch on politics, Obama, and love (for Obama, but also for Sara’s boyfriend, Joe Tippett). The imminent album will be Sara’s first in six years.

Sara’s last standard studio album, The Blessed Unrest, came out in July 2013. Though it’s been half a decade already, Sara has certainly kept busy with other projects. It started in 2015, when Sara released a book, Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song. That year also launched Sara’s career in musicals.

Sara composed all the songs for a musical called Waitress, which debuted in Boston in summer 2015. That November, a selection of those new songs appeared on Sara’s themed album, What’s Insides: Songs From Waitress. In 2016, Waitress went to Broadway; in 2017 – and again in 2018 – Sara took on the lead role of Jenna. She played Jenna for a third time in the last month, and just finished her run a few weeks ago.

In other musical theater news, Sara also played Mary Magdalene in NBC’s adaption of Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert, composed a song for the SpongeBob Square Pants musical, and co-hosted the Tonys last June. In October, Sara shared a cover of “Theodosia Reprise” for October’s “Hamildrop,” and in November her cover of “Tightrope” appeared on the new compilation album, The Greatest Showman – Reimagined.

More Sara Bareilles News

More in line with her standard pop career, Sara wrote a song called “Seriously” in light of the 2016 presidential election and released “If I Dare,” a song she composed for the 2017 film, Battle Of The Sexes. Last September, Sara teamed up with Common on a new song called “The Train,” in the indie film All About Nina. Sara is also currently composing music for a new dramedy series called Little Voice (loosely based on Sara’s own life, and indeed a reference to her major label debut). Sara also just received a prestigious award at the Songwriters Hall of Fame. All things considered, Sara Bareilles is a hard woman to keep up with!

Amongst the whirlwind of activity, fans have patiently awaited a new record. At this point, we won’t have to wait much longer! We’re loving the recent music video for “Armor” and the newest single, “Fire”! Catch up on all we know about the new record so far while we wait for the rest of the songs.

Let us know what you think of “Fire” and the entire Amidst The Chaos tracklist! Get ready to hear Amidst The Chaos in full on April 5th! Keep checking back here for all the latest Sara Bareilles music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.