Watch Sara Bareilles’s Mesmerizing New “Fire” Music Video

Last week, Sara Bareilles shared her new single, “Fire.” After lead single “Armor,” it’s our second taste of Sara’s long-awaited new album, Amidst The Chaos, out on April 5th. Today, “Fire” gets the music video treatment. Sara filmed the video in Brooklyn earlier this month with choreographer Travis Wall and actors Chelsea Thedinga and Daniel Gaymon. Nicholas Lam directed the video.

“Fire” starts with a cappella humming before launching into a rootsy, brutally honest song. Sara describes walking away from a loveless relationship that was never going to work out. Rather, she knows she wants much more than this guy had to offer; she wants deeper waters and a fiery connection.

Its new music video follows two characters, played by Daniel Gaymon and Chelsea Thedinga, as they dance through a rocky relationship. The choreography indicates the push and pull that’s not working, but by the end, a new relationship is able to blossom. Sara is there to set the mood throughout the stunning video.

Watch the video for “Fire” below:

Be sure to stream “Fire” on Spotify now. You can also pre-order her new album, Amidst The Chaos, now and get an instant download of both “Fire” and “Armor.” The album will include 12 new songs (which of the 13 songs Sara recorded didn’t make the cut?). Check out the full tracklisting below:

  1. Fire
  2. No Such Thing
  3. Armor
  4. If I Can’t Have You
  5. Eyes On You
  6. Miss Simone
  7. Wicked Love
  8. Orpheus
  9. Poetry By Dead Men
  10. Someone Who Loves Me
  11. Saint Honesty
  12. A Safe Place To Land (feat. John Legend)

Amidst The Chaos was produced by T Bone Burnett. Fittingly, the new music has a rootsy sound and will touch on politics, Obama, and love (for Obama, but also for Sara’s boyfriend, Joe Tippett). The imminent album will be Sara’s first in six years.

Sara’s last standard studio album, The Blessed Unrest, came out in July 2013. Though it’s been half a decade already, Sara has certainly kept busy with other projects. It started in 2015, when Sara released a book, Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song. That year also launched Sara’s career in musicals.

More Sara Bareilles News

Sara composed all the songs for a musical called Waitress, which debuted in Boston in summer 2015. That November, a selection of those new songs appeared on Sara’s themed album, What’s Insides: Songs From Waitress. In 2016, Waitress went to Broadway; in 2017 – and again in 2018 – Sara took on the lead role of Jenna. She played Jenna for a third time last month, and just finished her run a few weeks ago.

Amongst the whirlwind of activity, fans have patiently awaited a new record. At this point, we won’t have to wait much longer! Catch up on all we know about the new record so far while we wait for Amidst The Chaos to drop.

Enjoy the new music video for “Fire,” and get ready to hear Amidst The Chaos in full on April 5th! Keep checking back here for all the latest Sara Bareilles music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.