Sara Bareilles Unveils “No Such Thing” From Upcoming Album

In just four weeks, Sara Bareilles will release her long-awaited new album, Amidst The Chaos. Following singles “Armor” and “Fire,” our latest taste of the new music comes in the form of “No Such Thing,” a delicate, beautiful breakup song. Whereas the first two singles highlighted strength and seizing your best life, the new ballad dives into more emotional territory.

“No Such Thing” opens with a low bass and high, tinkling piano. Harp comes in on the first verse, lending an aura of magic and romance, a sad fairytale setting the tone for the heartbroken lyrics. Sara sings of all the ways she misses her ex. By the chorus, she professes that it would be impossible to get over this breakup, and she wouldn’t want to, anyway. Sara glides into her upper register, adding to the song’s fragility. “No Such Thing” sounds like the melancholy counterpart to her 2014 single, “I Choose You.”

Listen to “No Such Thing” below:

Be sure to stream “No Such Thing” on Spotify now. You can also pre-order Sara’s new album, Amidst The Chaos, now and get an instant download of all three singles. The album will include 12 new songs (which of the 13 songs Sara recorded didn’t make the cut?). Check out the full tracklisting below:

  1. Fire
  2. No Such Thing
  3. Armor
  4. If I Can’t Have You
  5. Eyes On You
  6. Miss Simone
  7. Wicked Love
  8. Orpheus
  9. Poetry By Dead Men
  10. Someone Who Loves Me
  11. Saint Honesty
  12. A Safe Place To Land (feat. John Legend)

Amidst The Chaos was produced by T Bone Burnett. Fittingly, the new music has a rootsy sound and will touch on politics, Obama, and love (for Obama, but also for Sara’s boyfriend, Joe Tippett). The imminent album will be Sara’s first in six years.

Sara’s last standard studio album, The Blessed Unrest, came out in July 2013. Though it’s been half a decade already, Sara has certainly kept busy with other projects. It started in 2015, when Sara released a book, Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song. That year also launched Sara’s career in musicals.

More Sara Bareilles News

Sara composed all the songs for a musical called Waitress, which debuted in Boston in summer 2015. That November, a selection of those new songs appeared on Sara’s themed album, What’s Insides: Songs From Waitress. In 2016, Waitress went to Broadway; in 2017 – and again in 2018 – Sara took on the lead role of Jenna. She played Jenna for a third time earlier this year, and just finished her run last month.

Amongst the whirlwind of activity, fans have patiently awaited a new record. At this point, we won’t have to wait much longer! Catch up on all we know about the new record so far while we wait for Amidst The Chaos to drop.

Enjoy the new song, “No Such Thing,” and get ready to hear Amidst The Chaos in full on April 5th! Keep checking back here for all the latest Sara Bareilles music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.