Sara Bareilles Shares “Saint Honesty” From Forthcoming Album

Following singles “Armor” and “Fire,” plus promo single “No Such Thing,” Sara Bareilles is back with one last preview of her album, Amidst The Chaos, before it drops on April 5th. Today’s promo single is “Saint Honesty,” a ballad Sara wrote with Lori McKenna. Sara revealed that she and her band recorded the whole song “all together, live.” Because of this, “Saint Honesty” is a bit more raw. As Sara explained, the song is “perfectly imperfect and my favorite on the record.”

“Saint Honesty” opens gently, a soft, full sound as piano, drums, and guitar accompany Sara’s vocals. No instrument ever overpowers the others, instead working together as equals throughout the song. “Saint Honesty” slowly grows and expands, but never too much, restraining itself just enough.

Sara describes a scene of a house with open windows during a storm. She uses this as a metaphor for her and a loved one opening up and being honest with each other, even if it hurts. After getting through this conversation, they’ll find salvation and happiness again. This is the softest ballad we’ve heard from Amidst The Chaos so far.

Listen to “Saint Honesty” below:

You can stream “Saint Honesty” on Spotify now, or pre-order Amidst The Chaos and get instant downloads of it and the previous three singles. You’ll get “Armor,” “Fire,” and “No Such Thing” in addition to the new song.

The album will include 12 new songs (which of the 13 songs Sara recorded didn’t make the cut?). Sara has recently performed the new songs in intimate concerts around the United States. You can hear the live previews online, but here at Hidden Jams we’re waiting for the album to drop first. Check out the full tracklisting for Amidst The Chaos below:

  1. Fire
  2. No Such Thing
  3. Armor
  4. If I Can’t Have You
  5. Eyes On You
  6. Miss Simone
  7. Wicked Love
  8. Orpheus
  9. Poetry By Dead Men
  10. Someone Who Loves Me
  11. Saint Honesty
  12. A Safe Place To Land (feat. John Legend)

Amidst The Chaos was produced by T Bone Burnett. Fittingly, the new music has a rootsy sound and will touch on politics, Obama, and love (for Obama, but also for Sara’s boyfriend, Joe Tippett). The imminent album will be Sara’s first in six years.

Sara’s last standard studio album, The Blessed Unrest, came out in July 2013. Though it’s been half a decade already, Sara has certainly kept busy with other projects. It started in 2015, when Sara released a book, Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song. That year also launched Sara’s career in musicals.

More Sara Bareilles News

Sara composed all the songs for a musical called Waitress, which debuted in Boston in summer 2015. That November, a selection of those new songs appeared on Sara’s themed album, What’s Insides: Songs From Waitress. In 2016, Waitress went to Broadway; in 2017 – and again in 2018 – Sara took on the lead role of Jenna. She played Jenna for a third time earlier this year, and just finished her run early last month.

Amongst the whirlwind of activity, fans have patiently awaited a new record. At this point, we won’t have to wait much longer! Catch up on all we know about the new record so far while we wait for Amidst The Chaos to drop in just two weeks.

Enjoy the new song, “Saint Honesty,” and get ready to hear Amidst The Chaos in full on April 5th! Keep checking back here for all the latest Sara Bareilles music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.