Sara Bareilles Previews “Orpheus,” Title Track From ‘Amidst The Chaos’

Finally, the day is almost here! Tomorrow, Sara Bareilles will release her long-awaited new album, Amidst The Chaos. Following singles “Armor,” “Fire,” “No Such Thing,” and “Saint Honesty,” Sara has spent this week adding to the excitement with more previews. Over the last few days, Sara shared clips of “If I Can’t Have You,” “Wicked Love,” and “Poetry By Dead Men,” all up- or mid-tempo bops that promise good things for Amidst The Chaos. Today, we get to hear one last snippet, this time of the album’s title track, “Orpheus.”

Sara shared her sentiments about “Orpheus”:

This is one of my favorite songs off the new record, and I took my album title from it’s lyrics. It is my gentle prayer for the world right now. “Don’t stop trying to find me here amidst the chaos. Though I know it’s blinding there’s a way out. Say out loud: we will not give up on love now.” 🙏🏽❤️

In contrast to uptempo clips of “If I Can’t Have You” and “Wicked Love,” and the magical midtempo teaser of “Poetry By Dead Men,” our new preview veers into gentler territory. We get to hear the chorus of “Orpheus,” led by acoustic guitar, standup bass, and a calm drumbeat. Swelling strings add to the song’s poignant, loving message. The song sounds like a throwback to the adult contemporary music of the 1970s, but in all the best ways.

The new song preview, like the three that came before it, is amping up our excitement for Sara’s new album! In just a few hours, we’ll get to hear the rest of this song and the whole album.

Hear the clip of “Orpheus” below:

You can pre-order Amidst The Chaos and get instant downloads of the four released singles. You’ll get “Armor,” “Fire,” “No Such Thing,” and “Saint Honesty” now, with the remaining eight songs coming on April 5th.

The album will include 12 new songs (which of the 13 songs Sara recorded didn’t make the cut?). Sara has recently performed the new songs in intimate concerts around the United States. You can hear the live previews online, but here at Hidden Jams we’re waiting for the album to drop first. Check out the full tracklisting for Amidst The Chaos below:

  1. Fire
  2. No Such Thing
  3. Armor
  4. If I Can’t Have You
  5. Eyes On You
  6. Miss Simone
  7. Wicked Love
  8. Orpheus
  9. Poetry By Dead Men
  10. Someone Who Loves Me
  11. Saint Honesty
  12. A Safe Place To Land (feat. John Legend)

Amidst The Chaos was produced by T Bone Burnett. Fittingly, the new music has a rootsy sound and will touch on politics, Obama, and love (for Obama, but also for Sara’s boyfriend, Joe Tippett). The imminent album will be Sara’s first in six years.

Six Years in Review

Sara’s last standard studio album, The Blessed Unrest, came out in July 2013. Though it’s been half a decade already, Sara has certainly kept busy with other projects. It started in 2015, when Sara released a book, Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song. That year also launched Sara’s career in musicals.

More Sara Bareilles News

Sara composed all the songs for a musical called Waitress, which debuted in Boston in summer 2015. That November, a selection of those new songs appeared on Sara’s themed album, What’s Insides: Songs From Waitress. In 2016, Waitress went to Broadway; in 2017 – and again in 2018 – Sara took on the lead role of Jenna. She played Jenna for a third time earlier this year, and just finished her run in February.

Sara Bareilles is now also preparing a new TV show called Little Voice – not only a nod to her album of the same name, but also the title track she wrote 15 years ago. “Little Voice” will serve as the upcoming fall show’s theme. Perhaps the song will finally see an official release? We hope so!

Amongst the whirlwind of activity, fans have patiently awaited a new record. At this point, we won’t have to wait much longer! Catch up on all we know about the new record so far while we wait for Amidst The Chaos to drop this Friday.

Enjoy the new teaser of “Orpheus,” and get ready to hear Amidst The Chaos in full in just a few hours! Keep checking back here for all the latest Sara Bareilles music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.