Hear 5 New Kelly Clarkson Songs From ‘UglyDolls’ Soundtrack Album

It’s no secret that Kelly Clarkson appears in the upcoming animated film, UglyDolls, out next Friday. On top of lending her voice to the lead character, Moxy, Kelly also recorded several songs for the movie’s new soundtrack album, out now. We first heard the new album’s lead single, “Broken & Beautiful,” last month, and earlier this week, Kelly shared its sweet music video. Today, fans can hear Kelly on a few more songs. Here are all UglyDolls tracks featuring Kelly:

“Broken & Beautiful” marks a return to Kelly’s pop sound after her brilliantly soulful 2017 album. It starts with light percussion and atmospheric space, creating a clean backdrop for Kelly’s vocals. She sings about her strength and independence, her triumphs and flaws, before launching into a huge chorus. She doesn’t need to be fixed – she just wants to be understood and loved for who she is. Kelly is the queen of empowering songs, and “Broken & Beautiful” reaffirms her message. It sounds strikingly like a P!nk song – naturally, since P!nk co-wrote it!

“Couldn’t Be Better” will sound familiar to fans who’ve seen the UglyDolls trailer. The song comes in two versions. First up is the pop recording, a cute and fizzy bop. The chorus is light and synthy, with a skipping energy. “Couldn’t Be Better” is endearingly warm and youthful.

“Today’s The Day” clocks in barely over 30 seconds, making it more of an interlude than a full song. The tiny lullaby about finding a doll for every child and child for every doll serves primarily as an intro for the movie recording of “Couldn’t Be Better.

The movie version of “Couldn’t Be Better” is far more animated, with Kelly singing with bright, excited vocals. It’s over-the-top, and feels like too much for standard listening, but it’s perfect for the film. It also emphasizes how great Kelly would be in a musical. On this track, Kelly is joined by the cast on the chorus. The second and third verses feature Blake Shelton, Pitbull, and more before ending with firework sounds and a gentle lullaby, sung by Kelly alone, providing a bookend from “Today’s The Day.”

Kelly sings a small part in Janelle Monáe’s track, “All Dolled Up.” The song opens with cool guitar and popping sounds, Janelle singing about tucking and clipping and tweezing.

Kelly is more prominent on “Unbreakable,” her duet with Janelle Monáe. The two trade vocals, Janelle starting things before Kelly joins on the second verse. After a bridge by Kelly, the sing together on the final chorus. “Unbreakable” is a slower, anthemic song with some R&B hints.

What do you think of Kelly’s new songs? Other tracks on the album feature Bebe Rexha, Nick Jonas, Pentatonix, Blake Shelton, Why Don’t We, and Anitta. Check out the full tracklisting below:

  1. Broken & Beautiful – by Kelly Clarkson
  2. Couldn’t Be Better (Pop Version) – by Kelly Clarkson
  3. Today’s the Day – by Kelly Clarkson
  4. Couldn’t Be Better (Movie Version) – by Kelly Clarkson & UglyDolls Cast
  5. Today’s the (Perfect) Day – by UglyDolls Cast
  6. The Ugly Truth – by Nick Jonas
  7. You Make My Dreams – by Pentatonix
  8. The Uglier Truth – by Nick Jonas
  9. All Dolled Up – by Janelle Monáe feat. Kelly Clarkson
  10. Unbreakable – by Janelle Monáe & Kelly Clarkson
  11. The Big Finale – by UglyDolls Cast
  12. Girl in the Mirror – by Bebe Rexha
  13. Ugly (English Version) – by Anitta
  14. Don’t Change – by Why Don’t We
  15. Wallflowers & Weeds – by Blake Shelton
  16. Ugly (Spanish Version) – by Anitta
More Kelly Clarkson News

In addition to recording music, Kelly is also coaching for the third season in a row on The Voice. She won the first two rounds, so we’ll see if she can continue her winning streak. Combining her music and television sensibilities, Kelly will host the Billboard Music Awards for the second year in a row this May. Her opening medley last year was epic, so we have high hopes for what Kelly will pull off this year! This fall, she’ll also launch her own TV talk show, The Kelly Clarkson Show.

Kelly’s busy schedule doesn’t end there. Two months ago, Forbes reported that Kelly had started “doing some recording on the side” for her next album. Last weekend, Kelly spent Easter Sunday in the studio working on her new album again! We don’t know much about how Kelly’s next album will sound or when we’ll get to hear it. All we have so far are some uncovered song titles, including “Step Up” and “Something New,” though it’s unclear if those will appear on her next record.

Enjoy the new UglyDolls soundtrack album, featuring Kelly Clarkson, Janelle Monáe, and more! You stream or buy the UglyDolls soundtrack album now here. The film will be in theaters on May 3rd, so be sure to watch it and hear more of Kelly’s amazing voice. Keep checking back here for all the latest Kelly Clarkson news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.