Muse’s Matthew Bellamy Shares Sweeping “Pray (High Valyrian)” For ‘Game Of Thrones’

Today, the new Game Of Thrones soundtrack album For The Throne hit shelves. In addition to singles like “Power Is Power” by The Weeknd, SZA, and Travis Scott, the album also includes songs by the likes of Ellie Goulding, The National, and Rosalía. The new album ends, however, with a sweeping new song by Muse frontman Matthew Bellamy called “Pray (High Valyrian).”

“Pray” begins with one chanted line in the fictional dead language High Valyrian. The sample comes from Game Of Thrones season 6 when Melisandre (played by actress Carice van Houten) said a prayer to save Jon Snow.

Following that brief spoken introduction, swiftly plucked strings dance as a sweeping orchestral sound swells in the background. The pinging strings transition into piano performing the same jumping riff. At this point, Matt Bellamy begins crooning an ominous verse, rallying listeners to pray to bring back a life. After rising to a falsetto climax, Matt backs away to make room for a longer sample of Melisandre’s prayer. The song adds in drums as Matt sings again, the sound growing fuller and more epic. Matt ends his part with an impressive falsetto wail before the song closes with a final chanted line of the prayer.

“Pray (High Valyrian)” is truly stunning. Listen to the full song below:

You can stream or buy “Pray (High Valyrian)” and the rest of the For The Throne songs from your music provider of choice here.

You can also pre-order For The Throne vinyl records now. In addition to limited edition split color fire and ice vinyl, you can select limited House editions, each of which features different artwork pertaining to your family of choice. Choose from all 9 houses: Stark, Lannister, Targaryen, Greyjoy, Baratheon, Arryn, Tully, Tyrell, and Martell. While the digital album is available now, the vinyl records don’t come out until July 26th.

More Muse & Matt Bellamy News

Matt Bellamy’s band, Muse, just released their incredible album Simulation Theory last November. It launched the singles “Dig Down,” “Thought Contagion,” “Something Human,” “The Dark Side,” and “Pressure,” plus videos for the songs “Algorithm,” “Break It To Me,” and “Blockades.”

Muse are about to embark on the European leg of their tour in support of the new album. Find European tour dates and get your tickets before it’s too late.

Enjoy Matt Bellamy’s solo song, “Pray (High Valyrian),” and be sure to check out the rest of the tracks on the For The Throne soundtrack album. Keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.