BANKS Releases New Single, “Look What You’re Doing To Me”

In one month, BANKS will release her new album, III. While we wait for July 12th to come, BANKS is treating fans to a couple of new singles. Following the lead “Gimme,” today BANKS shared her song “Look What You’re Doing To Me” featuring Francis & The Lights.

“Look What You’re Doing To Me” starts with desperate vocals, BANKS asking, “Why don’t you tell me you love me too?” The song grows into a stomping, alternative pop direction, with BANKS’ vocals overlapping with those from Francis & The Lights. It plays almost like a remix, echoing the song’s tale of two lovers in a back-and-forth relationship. “Look What You’re Doing To Me” is more immediately accessible than “Gimme,” and perhaps the most kinetic songs BANKS has released so far.

It also comes with a lyric video. It draws out the single’s artwork, showing flowers blooming in pools of water and across BANKS’ face. It’s artful and simplistic, a calming presence against the song’s emotional turmoil.

Listen to “Look What You’re Doing To Me” featuring Francis & The Lights in the lyric video below:

You can stream or download “Look What You’re Doing To Me” at all the major music providers here. You can also pre-order III and get it and “Gimme” as instant downloads now. The album is due out on July 12th.

BANKS also just shared the full tracklisting for III.

  1. Till Now
  2. Gimme
  3. Contaminated
  4. Stroke
  5. Godless
  6. Sawzall
  7. Look What You’re Doing To Me
  8. Hawaiian Mazes
  9. Alaska
  10. Propaganda
  11. The Fall
  12. If We Were Made Of Water
  13. What Above Love

The closing track, “What Above Love,” features BANKS’ 4-year-old niece, Georgia, saying “I love you.” What a sweet way to close the album!

BANKS included a note about why she named her album III as well:

This album is an ode to my journey. It documents a major growth spurt. Of self-acceptance, letting go, forgiveness, and deep love. It has been painful to realize that life is not black and white. Romanticism leads to fierce reality checks, which leads to wisdom, which leads to deeper empathy which leads to greater love. This album documents the cycle. Yes, this is my third album, but that is not why I called it |||. Birth-Life-Death, Beginning-Middle-End, Past-Present-Future. All |||’s and all ending with a theoretical period. To me, ||| represents a cycle of life. It represents acceptance, the ability to let go, and the shaky first step into the unknown. I can’t wait to step into the unknown with you.

Check out BANKS’ announcement below:


In describing III to Billboard in May, BANKS stated that, “I was going through a major growth spurt when I made this album,” in which she transformed from a “naive girl” into a “wise woman.” Indeed, the new songs on III show the confident side of her, previously heard on songs like “Underdog” and “F–k With Myself.”

BANKS considered naming her album Eros, which would have fit in with her first two album titles: Goddess and The Altar. Instead, she opted for III. (In our opinion, Eros would have made an excellent title; oh well.)

Read the full interview with Billboard to learn more about where BANKS has been and how her new album will sound.

More BANKS News

III follows BANKS’ 2016 sophomore album, The Altar, which gave us the singles “F–k With Myself,” “Gemini Feed,” and “Trainwreck.”

We can’t wait to hear III on July 12th! For now, enjoy her new single “Look What You’re Doing To Me,” and its predecessor, “Gimme.” Catch up on all we know about the new album, and get ready to hear III in just one month. Keep checking back here for all the latest BANKS music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.