Florence + The Machine Announce ‘Lungs’ 10 Year Anniversary Release

Ten years ago, Florence + The Machine released their debut album, Lungs. It was a huge success that launched an impressive career, with singles like “Dog Days Are Over” and their cover of “You’ve Got The Love” propelling them forward. Today, a full decade after we first heard of Florence + The Machine, the group announced a special 10 year anniversary release of their debut album. The Lungs re-release will include the full album plus several b-sides, including three previously unreleased demos: “My Best Dress,” “Donkey Kosh,” and “Postcards From Italy.” Today, fans can stream the former two demos ahead of the August 16th release date.

Both the “My Best Dress” and “Donkey Kosh” demos feature old audio of Florence Welch singing over acoustic guitar. They’re quirky and uptempo, but it doesn’t seem that the band moved them forward in the production process when making Lungs.

Listen to “My Best Dress” and “Donkey Kosh” below:

Besides these two demos, fans also have “Postcards From Italy” to look forward to. The 10 year anniversary album will be released digitally and on vinyl on August 16th. Check out the full Lungs tracklisting below:

    1. Dog Days Are Over
    2. Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)
    3. I’m Not Calling You A Liar
    4. Howl
    5. Kiss With A Fist
    6. Girl With One Eye
    7. Drumming Song
    8. Between Two Lungs
    9. Cosmic Love
    10. My Boy Builds Coffins
    11. Hurricane Drunk
    12. Blinding
    13. You’ve Got The Love

Disc 2

  1. Bird Song
  2. My Boy Builds Coffins (Acoustic)
  3. My Best Dress (unreleased Demo)
  4. Donkey Kosh (unreleased Demo)
  5. Hospital Beds
  6. Falling
  7. Ghosts (Demo)
  8. Postcards from Italy (unreleased demo )
  9. Swimming
  10. Are You Hurting The One You Love?
  11. Oh! Darling (Live at Abbey Road)

Notable absences from this re-release include “Heavy In Your Arms,” “Addicted To Love,” and “Hardest Of Hearts.” All three have already appeared on earlier versions of the album.

You can pre-order and pre-save the Lungs rerelease at the major music providers here. You can also find a special vinyl box set, including postcards and previously unseen photos from the Lungs era.

Watch the Lungs anniversary video here:

Florence + The Machine’s most recent album, High As Hope, came out last year in June. It started with “Sky Full Of Song” and “Hunger,” also giving videos to “Big God” and a live version of “South London Forever.” You can stream the album on Spotify or download it from iTunes now.

Earlier this year, the band released two new songs: “Moderation” and “Haunted House.” The group also recorded a Game Of Thrones song, “Jenny Of Oldstones,” though it did not appear on the shows’s soundtrack album, For The Throne.

Between now and September, Florence + The Machine will also be touring around Europe. Find dates and get tickets here before it’s too late.

Enjoy Florence + The Machine’s newly shared demos of “My Best Dress” and “Donkey Kosh,” and get ready for the rest of the Lungs anniversary release next month. Keep checking back here for all the latest Florence + The Machine music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.