Hoobastank Announces 15th Anniversary Release Of ‘The Reason’

Anyone who was alive in 2004 probably remembers hearing “The Reason” all over radio and MTV every day. This ballad was so simple yet so perfect, and it launched Hoobastank to stardom. Their album of the same name catapulted with it, and The Reason remains a standout in their career and in 2000s music as a whole. Today, Hoobastank announced that they will re-release the album in celebration of its 15th anniversary. (Never mind that the album came out in December 2003; spring/summer 2004 is when the single went out, bringing popularity and accolades with it.)

On October 4th, fans will get to hear the updated album along with five bonus tracks. It will come on collector’s edition vinyl, plus you can get The Reason t-shirts.

Check out the updated tracklisting – with 5 bonus tracks – below:

  1. Same Direction
  2. Out Of Control
  3. What Happened To Us?
  4. Escape
  5. Lucky
  6. Just One
  7. From The Heart
  8. The Reason
  9. Let It Out
  10. Unaffected
  11. Never There
  12. Disappear
  13. The Reason (Acoustic)
  14. Force Feed Me
  15. Connected
  16. Did You
  17. Right Before Your Eyes

Tracks 13-17 are new to this edition of the album. The acoustic version of “The Reason” may be newly recorded, though the band has released acoustic recordings of the song before. “Connected,” “Did You,” and “Right Before Your Eyes” all previously appeared on movie or video game soundtracks (Halo 2, Spider Man 2, and Daredevil, respectively). The only unheard song here is “Force Feed Me.”

Two songs from the era not included in the re-release are “Never Saw It Coming” and “Open Your Eyes.”

You can pre-order the 15th Anniversary edition of The Reason from all the major music providers here. Pre-orders come with an instant download of “Right Before Your Eyes.”

Push Pull

Hoobastank’s most recent album of new music was Push Pull, released last year. It launched the singles “More Beautiful” and “Push Pull.”

The band toured in support of the album and did an anniversary tour of The Reason last fall.

Get ready for the updated release of The Reason out on October 4th! Keep checking back here for all the latest Hoobastank music news.

Don’t leave without revisiting “The Reason” and its jewel-heist music video:

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.