Tove Lo & Jax Jones Team Up On New Song, “Jacques”

In just three weeks, Tove Lo will release her upcoming 4th album, Sunshine Kitty. Following the singles “Glad He’s Gone” and the Alma-assisted “Bad As The Boys,” our third preview of the album comes with a little help from Jax Jones. The two teamed up for their new single, “Jacques.”

Although Tove is Swedish and Jax is English, their new song takes its influences from France. It’s an electro-house song about a one-night stand with a French man. While Tove plays herself in the lyrics, Jax takes on the character of Jacques. The flirty words – complete with exclamations of “oh la la la” – match the vibe of the music perfectly. In contrast to Tove’s previous two singles, this one sounds more like her previous work.

In a press release, Tove described working with Jax Jones and the inspiration behind “Jacques”:

I’ve wanted to work with Jax for a long time and our two days in London were some of the most fun and awesome sessions I’ve had. He played different ideas and tracks and I would just get in my zone and improvise melodies til I sang something we all loved. Writing the lyrics together was a lot of fun. Jacques is about a one-night fling with a French dude. It’s raw and cheeky, because that’s what that night was. This is the club banger on my new album Sunshine Kitty.

Listen to “Jacques” below:

You can stream or download “Jacques” from all the major music providers here. The song will appear on Jax Jones’s upcoming debut album, Snacks (Supersize), out September 6th. It will also feature on Tove Lo’s upcoming album, Sunshine Kitty, out on September 20th. You can pre-order the album here and get instant downloads of “Jacques” and the first two singles.

Sunshine Kitty will feature 14 new songs. So far, we’ve heard two of the fives songs featuring guest artists. In addition to Alma on “Bad As The Boys” and Jax Jones on “Jacques,” we can also look forward to hearing Kylie Minogue, Doja Cat, and MC Zaac.

Check out the full Sunshine Kitty tracklisting below:

  1. Gritty Pretty (intro)
  2. Glad He’s Gone
  3. Bad As The Boys (feat. Alma)
  4. Sweettalk My Heart
  5. Stay Over
  6. Are U GonnaTell Her? (feat. MC Zaac)
  7. Jacques (with Jax Jones)
  8. Mateo
  9. Come Undone
  10. Equally Lost (feat. Doja Cat)
  11. Really Don’t Like U (feat. Kylie Minogue)
  12. Shifted
  13. Mistaken
  14. Anywhere U Go

Get ready for some excellent new Tove Lo songs coming next month! For now, enjoy “Jacques,” as well as “Bad As The Boys” and “Glad He’s Gone.” Sunshine Kitty will be out in three weeks on September 20th. Until then, keep checking back here for all the latest Tove Lo music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.