Watch Opeth’s Dark New Music Video For “Universal Truth”

Opeth just released their album, In Cauda Venenum, shockingly in both English and Swedish. Following the singles “Heart In Hand” and “Dignity,” Opeth has now shared a music video for the song “Universal Truth” (or, as it’s known in Swedish, “Ingen Sanning Är Allas”).

“Universal Truth” is one of the softer songs on the album. It fades in like a lullaby, frontman Mikael Åkerfeldt singing softly over acoustic guitar that sounds like a music box. The chorus heightens the song, Mikael’s falsetto vocals lending it a heavenly atmosphere. “Universal Truth” moves between these two motifs, alternating between the dark, dream-like verses and the expansive choruses. Strings fill out the sound, adding to the enchanting beauty of the song.

Its music video is depressing and dark, telling a story of a breakup that leaves a man hopeless. It begins with a suicidal man, devastated after his partner leaves him for someone else. He reflects on her departure, but instead of ending his own life, he turns to hand-crafted puppets to recreate their relationship. He lives in a fantasy, letting himself go in his obsession over the past. Ultimately, this dreamworld cannot last.

Like the visualizer video for “Dignity,” this one features eerie animations. The video was written and directed by Jess Cope of Owl House Studios.

Watch the music video for “Universal Truth” below:

“Universal Truth” appears on Opeth’s new album, In Cauda Venenum, released in September in both English and Swedish. You can stream or purchase the English version of the album from all the music providers here. Or, if you want to hear it in Swedish, find it here.

In Cauda Venenum features 10 tracks. See the full tracklisting – both Swedish and English titles – below:

  1. Livet’s Trädgård / Garden Of Earthly Delights
  2. Svekets Prins / Dignity
  3. Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör / Heart In Hand
  4. De Närmast Sörjande / Next Of Kin
  5. Minnets Yta / Lovelorn Crime
  6. Charlatan
  7. Ingen Sanning Är Allas / Universal Truth
  8. Banemannen / The Garroter
  9. Kontinuerlig Drift / Continuum
  10. Allting Tar Slut / All Things Will Pass

Opeth is currently on tour. They’ll be in Asia and Australia through the end of this year, with dates in Scandinavia set for January 2020, a North American tour in February and March, and concerts across Europe next summer. Find all dates and tickets here.

In Cauda Venenum, Opeth’s 13th studio album, just came out in September. It follows last fall’s live album, Garden of the Titans: Live at Red Rocks Amphitheatre, and their 2016 record, Sorceress.

Enjoy the new music video for “Universal Truth,” and be sure to listen to the rest of the album – in English, Swedish, or both! While you’re at it, check out the music video for the Swedish version of the song – “Ingen Sanning Är Allas” – below. Keep checking back here for all the latest Opeth music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.