Green Day Announce “Oh Yeah!” & Confirm New Album Tracklisting

One month from today, Green Day will release their new album, Father Of All… After some rumors circulating the last few weeks, the band has confirmed the traklisting for the album and announced their next single. First things first: the rumored tracklist – which included the back cover art for the album – is real, artwork and all. And its third track, “Oh Yeah!,” will serve as Green Day’s next single. It’ll be released on Thursday, January 16th.

Green Day’s announcement doesn’t come with a tease of the new song, but their social posts do feature Green Day champagne being opened as another song called “Oh Yeah!” plays. Many will recognize Yello’s 1985 song from the 1986 film, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Any chance Green Day’s new single samples that classic ’80s song? We’ll find out next week.

“Oh Yeah!” follows singles “Father Of All…” and “Fire, Ready, Aim,” both released late in 2019.

See the announcement post – including video and back cover art for Father Of All… – below:

Here is the official Father Of All… tracklisting:

  1. Father Of All…
  2. Fire, Ready, Aim
  3. Oh Yeah!
  4. Meet Me On The Roof
  5. I Was A Teenage Teenager
  6. Stab You In The Heart
  7. Sugar Youth
  8. Junkies On A High
  9. Take The Money And Crawl
  10. Grafitia

In addition to the short tracklisting, we also know that the full album clocks in at a mere 26 minutes. This will make it Green Day’s shortest album to date, even shorter than Insomniac.

Besides the two songs we’ve heard already, we’ve only heard talk of two others. As Mike Dirnt told Rolling Stone last September, “Meet Me On The Roof” and “Junkies On A High” sound like “Green Day firing on all cylinders,” staying more true to their “bedrock punk sound” than songs like “Father Of All…”

Changing Labels & More Music Possibilities

In a series of interviews last September, Green Day did imply that this will be their last album with Warner Records. They’ve been with the major label since the early 1990s, and all of their albums from Dookie onwards have been released by Warner.

Additionally, the band members also suggested the possibility of them releasing a second album 2020 – possibly on their own label after leaving Warner.

Some speculate that Green Day is trolling fans with Father Of All… and have another (allegedly more serious) album planned. Interestingly, the band’s caption accompanying “Fire, Ready, Aim” in October did seem to feed into that theory. “How many trolls does it take to screw in a lightbulb?” Trolling, indeed.

More Green Day & Billie Joe News

Hella Mega Tour

Coinciding with the release of “Father Of All…” and the announcement of their new album last year, Green Day also announced a massive upcoming tour. The Hella Mega Tour will see Green Day co-headlining with Fall Out Boy and Weezer, with The Interrupters supporting the bands.

Tickets are on sale now. Be sure to get tickets before it’s too late! Some dates have already sold out, so don’t wait!

Father Of All…

Get ready to hear “Oh Yeah!” next week, and the rest of the album in just one month! For now, enjoy “Fire, Ready, Aim” and “Father Of All…”

The full album will be out on February 7th. Also get ready to see Green Day with Fall Out Boy and Weezer later this year! You can pick up tickets now.

Keep checking back here for all the latest Green Day music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.