The Weeknd Drops “After Hours,” Title Track From Upcoming March Album

Last week, The Weeknd finally announced his upcoming album, After Hours. Today, we have the album’s cover art, release date… and title track! Following his singles “Heartless” and “Blinding Lights,” fans can now hear “After Hours” ahead of the album’s March 20, 2020 release date.

Unlike the first two singles, “After Hours” takes some time to settle in. Pinging percussion, digital blips, and crackling undertone add to a moody atmosphere. The Weeknd sings in his signature falsetto, extra reverb giving his vocals an other-worldly quality. Though the lyrics can be hard to make out on first listen, The Weeknd sings a mournful breakup song, apologizing for breaking an ex’s heart and admitting that he wants her back. The songs starts slowly, but just over two minutes in a strong drumbeat infuses it with new energy. Low synths come in later, continuing to grow the song. Then, the last minute of the song drops the extra elements, returning to a delicate and minimalist outro. The Weeknd croons over the atmospheric sounds until it fades to an end.

It’s not an immediate radio single, but “After Hours” packs a punch and will serve well as the (presumed) closing track on the album.

Listen to “After Hours” below:

You can stream or download “After Hours” from all the major music providers here. “After Hours” will appear on The Weeknd’s upcoming album of the same name, along with singles “Heartless” and “Blinding Lights.” You can pre-save the album on Spotify, Apple Music, and Deezer here; you can also pre-order it on The Weeknd’s official store here. It comes out on March 20th.

We currently only have a partial tracklisting for the album. We know where the three singles so far belong, but don’t know the remaining 10 songs. See the incomplete tracklisting for After Hours below:

  1. ?
  2. ?
  3. ?
  4. ?
  5. ?
  6. ?
  7. Heartless
  8. ?
  9. Blinding Lights
  10. ?
  11. ?
  12. ?
  13. After Hours

Here is the official cover art for After Hours:


The Weeknd In Review

The Weeknd’s last album, Starboy, came out in fall 2016, hot on the heels of his 2015 record, Beauty Behind The Madness. It launched singles like “Starboy,” “False Alarm,” “I Feel It Coming,” and “Secrets.” In 2017, he also joined frequent collaborator Lana Del Rey on her single, “Lust For Life,” the title track from her fourth studio album.

Early in 2018, The Weeknd teamed up with Kendrick Lamar for the Black Panther single, “Pray For Me.” His last solo project was a 6-song EP, My Dear Melancholy, featuring the single “Call Out My Name.”

In 2019, The Weeknd featured on several more singles, including Nav’s “Price On My Head,” Gesaffelstein’s controversial “Lost In The Fire,” and the Game Of Thrones song “Power Is Power” with SZA and Travis Scott.

More The Weeknd News

Enjoy “After Hours,” and get ready for the rest of the album when it drops on March 20th. We’re only one month away! For now, catch up on all the latest about After Hours here. Keep checking back here for all the latest music news on The Weeknd.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.