The Weeknd Performs New Ballad “Scared To Live” On SNL

In less than two weeks, The Weeknd’s new album, After Hours, will be out. He’s already released three songs from it so far – “Heartless,” “Blinding Lights,” and “After Hours” – and just shared a short film last Wednesday. Though we still don’t know the rest of the album’s tracklist, The Weeknd did just unveil a fourth song live on Saturday Night Live last night. He performed “Scared To Live” in the song’s unexpected debut.

“Scared To Live” is a heartfelt ballad straight out of the 1980s. It opens with retro synths before falling back to a gentle keyboard melody. The Weeknd sings to his ex-girlfriend of the ways he failed in the relationship. But it’s not a bitter list; rather, he honestly admits his wrongdoings and what he wishes he’d done differently. On the chorus, he pleads that she not be afraid to go out and live her life fully now that she’s without him. He genuinely wants to her to be happy and find joy and love again. It’s a sincere and heartbreaking song, and it comes from a place of maturity.

In addition to commendable lyrics, the song also shows off The Weeknd’s excellent vocals. He croons and belts, taps into his controlled vibrato, and affirms his true vocal talent. He doesn’t always show off his voice this way, but it’s nice to hear it on “Scared To Live.”

The live performance is understated, allowing the focus to remain firmly on the song. The Weeknd stands in one place throughout the performance, with only a keyboardist to accompany him. Visual effects are limited to shining blue lights and a simple mirror multiplying his image.

Watch The Weeknd’s live debut of “Scared To Live” from SNL below:

“Heartless,” “Blinding Lights,” “After Hours,” and “Scared To Live” will appear on The Weeknd’s upcoming album, out March 20th. The former three songs are available to stream or download now. You can pre-save the album on Spotify, Apple Music, and Deezer here; you can also pre-order it on The Weeknd’s official store here.

We currently only have a partial tracklisting for the album. We know where the first three singles so far belong, but don’t know where “Scared To Live” goes or what the other 10 songs will be. See the incomplete tracklisting for After Hours below:

  1. ?
  2. ?
  3. ?
  4. ?
  5. ?
  6. ?
  7. Heartless
  8. ?
  9. Blinding Lights
  10. ?
  11. ?
  12. ?
  13. After Hours
  14. ?

The Weeknd In Review

The Weeknd’s last album, Starboy, came out in fall 2016, hot on the heels of his 2015 record, Beauty Behind The Madness. It launched singles like “Starboy,” “False Alarm,” “I Feel It Coming,” and “Secrets.” In 2017, he also joined frequent collaborator Lana Del Rey on her single, “Lust For Life,” the title track from her fourth studio album.

Early in 2018, The Weeknd teamed up with Kendrick Lamar for the Black Panther single, “Pray For Me.” His last solo project was a 6-song EP, My Dear Melancholy, featuring the single “Call Out My Name.”

In 2019, The Weeknd featured on several more singles, including Nav’s “Price On My Head,” Gesaffelstein’s controversial “Lost In The Fire,” and the Game Of Thrones song “Power Is Power” with SZA and Travis Scott.

More The Weeknd News

Enjoy the live debut of “Scared To Live,” and get ready to hear the full album when it drops on March 20th. We’re only 12 days away! For now, catch up on all the latest about After Hours here. Keep checking back here for all the latest music news on The Weeknd.

Before you go, check out The Weeknd’s other SNL performance last night, for his single “Blinding Lights”:


Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.