Lana Del Rey Releases First Poetry Audiobook

About two years ago, Lana Del Rey revealed that she would be releasing a poetry book called Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass. Today, fans can finally hear the audiobook version! In two months, on September 29th, the physical book will also be available. In addition to the full audiobook, Lana shared one of the poems as a standalone single.

Lana shared a statement about her new poetry collection:

Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass is the title poem of the book and the first poem I wrote of many. Some of which came to me in their entirety, which I dictated and then typed out, and some that I worked laboriously picking apart each word to make the perfect poem. They are eclectic and honest and not trying to be anything other than what they are and for that reason I’m proud of them, especially because the spirit in which they were written was very authentic.

The audiobook of Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass features 12 poems. See the full tracklisting below:

  1. LA Who Am I To Love You
  2. The Land Of 1,000 Fires
  3. Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass
  4. Past The Bushes Cypress Thriving
  5. Salamander
  6. Never To Heaven
  7. Sportcruiser
  8. Tessa Dipierto
  9. Quiet Waiter Blue Forever
  10. What Happened When I Left You
  11. Happy
  12. My Bedroom Is A Sacred Place Now — There Are Children At The Foot Of My Bed
  13. Paradise Is Very Fragile
  14. Bare Feet On Linoleum

You can purchase Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass from the major audiobook providers here. You can also get the spoken poems on CD, vinyl, or picture disc from Lana’s official site. Note that they won’t ship until early October.

Remember, the physical book won’t be out until September 29th. However, you can pre-order a hardcover book or ebook from the major book retailers now. Both the hardcover and ebook will feature more than 30 poems – over double what was included in the audiobook format.

Proceeds of the book sales will go to Navajo Water Project to help bring “clean, hot and cold running water to families across New Mexico, Utah and Arizona.” Lana talked a bit about it in the video below:

“LA Who Am I To Love You”

As an added bonus to the release of the audiobook today, Lana also shared one poem – “LA Who Am I To Love You” – as a single. It’s available across streaming platforms now. Lana also shared a slightly abridged video of her reciting the poem to her instagram page. Check it out below:

View this post on Instagram

A poem from my audiobook that’s out x

A post shared by Lana Del Rey (@lanadelrey) on

Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass is just Lana’s first collection of poetry. She’ll release another poetry book, Behind The Iron Gates – Insights From An Institution, in March 2021.

Upcoming Album

Beyond poetry books, Lana is also gearing up to release another album. Though her last record, Norman Fucking Rockwell, only just came out last August, Lana announced plans to release her next album, Chemtrails Over The Country Club, in early September. She’s revealed surprisingly little about it so far. In contrast, fans had heard nearly all the songs over the 12 months leading up to Norman Fucking Rockwell.

Also known for her covers, Lana has mentioned her idea to release of a covers album someday. She intends to title it Pacific Blue.

In addition to the future albums, Lana also has a film scoring project coming up, which will gift fans even more music. She’s composing for the upcoming film adaptation of Lewis Carroll novel Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland.

More Lana Del Rey News

Violent Bent Backwards Over The Grass

Enjoy Lana’s new audiobook, out now, and be sure to get the physical version of Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass upon its release at the beginning of autumn. September will also bring Lana’s next album of music, so stay tuned for more news on that! Keep checking back here for all the latest Lana Del Rey news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.