Billie Joe Armstrong Announces ‘No Fun Mondays’ Cover Album

For most of this year, Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong has been sharing covers as part of his No Fun Mondays series. It started in March with his version of “I Think We’re Alone Now,” and extended into September with his latest cover, “Whole Wide World.” Today, Billie Joe has announced that we’ll finally get all the covers together in one album! On November 27th, fans can enjoy his new album, unsurprisingly titled No Fun Mondays.

Check out the announcement and cover art for No Fun Mondays:

All 14 of the covers Billie Joe has released since last March will appear on the album. They’re also arranged in roughly the order he released them in, with only a few songs moved around.

See the full tracklist for No Fun Mondays:

  1. I Think We’re Alone Now
  2. War Stories
  3. Manic Monday
  4. Corpus Christi
  5. That Thing You Do!
  6. Amico
  7. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
  8. Kids In America
  9. Not That Way Anymore
  10. That’s Rock ‘n’ Roll
  11. Gimme Some Truth
  12. Whole Wide World
  13. Police On My Back
  14. A New England

Note that Green Day’s cover of “Dreaming” (originally by Blondie) will not appear on the album.

You can pre-order No Fun Mondays from Green Day’s official store now. They have it available on CD and on an exclusive baby blue vinyl with a glow-in-the-dark cover. The album comes out on November 27th.

Father Of All… & “Otis Big Guitar Mix” EP

It’s only been eight months since Green Day released their last album, Father Of All… It features the singles “Father Of All…,” “Fire, Ready, Aim,” “Oh Yeah!,” and “Meet Me On The Roof.”

It’s a fun and straightforward record, weaving in elements of Motown along with Green Day’s brand of punk rock. While it’s not their strongest or most ambitious release (see instead American Idiot21st Century Breakdown, and the trilogy), it is refreshingly carefree and fast-paced.

Then, surprising fans everywhere, Green Day just put out an EP at the beginning of April. The “Otis Big Guitar Mix” EP features alternate versions of three trilogy songs. Sure, the trilogy came out 8 years ago, but it’s never too late for more goodies from it, right? Hear new mixes of “Lazy Bones,” “Wild One,” and “Oh Love.”

More Green Day & Billie Joe News

Changing Labels & More Music Possibilities

In a series of interviews one year ago, Green Day did imply that Father Of All… would be their last album with Warner Records. They’ve been with the major label since the early 1990s, and all of their albums from Dookie onwards have been released by Warner.

Additionally, at the time, the band members also suggested the possibility of them releasing a second album in 2020 – possibly on their own label after leaving Warner. Billie Joe repeated this idea, including in an interview last February. He stated that he’d written several songs in the previous six months and had several left over from the Father Of All… sessions. However, he did not indicate how they would release new music this year, if they indeed do so. In early April, Billie Joe told Kerrang that he’s written another six songs since the quarantines began. We could have a ton of new music ready soon.

Because Billie is releasing his covers album next month, it’s unlikely we’ll hear any new, original material from Green Day until 2021. But with this band, you never really know.

Hella Mega Tour

Next year, Green Day plans to embark on their Hella Mega Tour, co-headlining with Fall Out Boy and Weezer. COVID-19 forced them to postpone all dates to 2021. Let’s hope that the pandemic will be over in time for the tour to happen!

Tickets for the Hella Mega Tour are on sale now. Be sure to get tickets before it’s too late! Some dates have already sold out, so don’t wait!

Get ready for Billie Joe’s No Fun Mondays album, out on November 27th. You can enjoy all 14 of his covers already, but it’ll be so much nicer with them all together in one place. Keep checking back here for all the latest Billie Joe Armstrong and Green Day music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.