Alicia Keys & Brandi Carlile Inspire With “A Beautiful Noise”

Alicia Keys and Brandi Carlile have joined forces for an unexpected but perfect new song. Today, they released their duet “A Beautiful Noise” as part of the Every Vote Counts campaign. Indeed, in case you haven’t noticed lately, the United States has a hugely important election coming up in just a few days, and it’s more important than ever that we all vote. Several artists have urged fans to vote, like Evanescence with their recent single, “Use My Voice.” Today, Alicia and Brandi have added their message to the mix.

In a statement today, Brandi Carlile wrote:

The evolution of “A Beautiful Noise” represents a group of incredible women from all different walks of life coming together with a potent message of hope and empowerment. It is an important reminder that we all have a voice and that our voices count. It was absolute dream and honor to join the incomparable Alicia Keys to deliver this beautiful message through song. Alicia lives this song. This is how she walks through the world. I am forever inspired.

“A Beautiful Noise” is a gentle and simple tune. Alicia and Brandi both play their respective pianos, the only accompaniment for their harmonizing vocals. Alicia takes on the first verse, while Brandi sings the second, and they join together on the choruses. As the lyrics illustrate, we each have a voice, whether it’s a whisper or a scream. What matters is that we use it – for ourselves and for those who can’t speak up for their own rights. The political message is clear, even if it’s not overt in which party’s side they’re on.

The music video is similarly understated. In a dark room decorated by twinkling lights, Alicia and Brandi each sit at a grand piano, facing each other. Their pianos fit together like puzzle pieces, perhaps a complementary message to that in the song’s lyrics. Brandi and Alicia both play and sing, capturing a powerful connection as they look to one another.

Watch the video for “A Beautiful Noise” below:

You can stream or buy “A Beautiful Noise” from all the major music providers here.

The Every Vote Counts campaign encourages U.S. citizens to vote in the upcoming election. Alicia Keys hosted today’s event with America Fererra and Kerry Washington. She and Brandi performed their new song, with other performances by Dan + Shay, Offset, and Shawn Mendes. Many other musicians participated, with appearances from Billie Eillish, Coldplay, Jennifer Lopez, Kelly Clarkson, Lin-Manuel Miranda, and Lizzo. Numerous actors, athletes, comedians, and senators also participated in the event.

More From Alicia Keys

Last month, Alicia Keys released her seventh studio album, ALICIA. The album has launched seven singles released in the last year: “Show Me Love” featuring Miguel“Time Machine,” “Underdog,” “Good Job,” “Perfect Way To Die,” “So Done” with Khalid, and – most recently – “Love Looks Better.” Notably, Alicia’s 2019 song “Raise A Man” does not appear on the tracklist.

See the full tracklist for ALICIA below. Of the 15 songs, seven feature a guest artist.

  1. Truth Without Love
  2. Time Machine
  3. Authors Of Forever
  4. Wasted Energy (feat. Diamond Platnumz)
  5. Underdog
  6. 3 Hour Drive (feat. Sampha)
  7. Me X 7 (feat. Tierra Whack)
  8. Show Me Love (feat. Miguel)
  9. So Done (feat. Khalid)
  10. Gramercy Park
  11. Love Looks Better
  12. You Save Me (feat. Snoh Aalegra)
  13. Jill Scott (feat. Jill Scott)
  14. Perfect Way To Die
  15. Good Job

Alicia has also moved into the literary field. At the end of March, Alicia shared her first book, More Myself: A Journey. Co-written by Michelle Burford, it was published by Flatiron Books and Oprah Winfrey’s new book imprint, An Oprah Book. More Myself: A Journey came out on Tuesday, March 31, 2020. You can order the book here.

More From Brandi Carlile

One month ago, Brandi shared covers of two Soundgarden songs, “Black Hole Sun” and “Searching With My Good Eye Closed.” Both were released as part of Record Store Day on 12″ vinyl.

In September 2019, Brandi’s supergroup The Highwomen released their self-titled debut album. The supergroup includes country stars Maren Morris, Natalie Hemby, and Amanda Shires alongside Brandi.

That followed Brandi’s 2018 Grammy-winning album, By The Way, I Forgive You. It launched her hit single “The Joke.”

More Alicia Keys News

Enjoy “A Beautiful Noise” from Alicia Keys and Brandi Carlile, and be sure to use your voice and vote! Keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.