The Network Shares Music Video for Standout Song “Fentanyl”

It’s already been one week since The Network – who is NOT Green Day – put out their four-song EP, Trans Am. In one more week, we’ll get their full album, Money Money 2020 Pt II: We Told Ya So! Following a video for “Flat Earth” earlier this week, today, a song called “Fentanyl” gets an accompanying music video.

“Fentanyl” adopts the vibe of a 1980s dance number, while Fink sings with some excessive vocal effects. His vocals are actually really nice here, if hard to understand, and in fact the whole song sounds like, well, a real song. This the most musically legit track on the recent EP, and the most qualified to enjoy with all seriousness.

Like the other videos we’ve seen from The Network so far, this one shows the band playing in an intimate setting, but of course with obvious visual distortion. Interspersed, we also get an array of vintage clips from old films, adding a vague but undeniable sense of unease. Whatever the song and video mean, it’s mesmerizing.

Watch the music video for “Fentanyl” below:

“Fentanyl” appears on The Network’s new four-song EP. You can stream or buy the Trans Am EP from all the major music providers here. It will also appear on their upcoming album, due out in one week.

Money Money 2020 Pt II: We Told Ya So!

On December 4th, The Network will release their long-awaited second album, Money Money 2020 Pt II: We Told Ya So! While the band hasn’t yet shared the tracklist or cover art, we do have some ideas of what songs it will bring.

The title track is likely “The Prophecy” which we heard part (or all?) of in The Network’s October 29th post. We’re also expecting to hear this “Threat Level” song in full. Finally, don’t forget “Tarantula”!

Green Day’s Side Bands

Back in 2003, The Network was Green Day’s first side band. If you haven’t heard it already, or recently, be sure to listen to Money Money 2020 soon before the band releases their new music.

Between American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, Green Day’s next side band (and the first one they formally acknowledged) was Foxboro Hot Tubs. That group released the album Stop Drop And Roll!!! in 2008, and their song “Fuck Time” ended up becoming a Green Day song on their very Foxboro trilogy album ¡Dos! in 2012.

Billie Joe Armstrong and Mike Dirnt are in the covers band called The Coverups, formed in 2018. Further, all three members of Green Day have recorded and toured in other side projects of their own. Billie has been in the bands Pinhead Gunpowder and, more recently, The Longshot. Mike has played in The Frustrators; Tré Cool has played in the “Icelandic death metal” band Dead Mermaids.

More Green Day & Billie Joe News

More from Green Day

Early this year, Green Day released their album Father Of All… It features the singles “Father Of All…,” “Fire, Ready, Aim,” “Oh Yeah!,” and “Meet Me On The Roof.” It’s a fun and straightforward record, weaving in elements of Motown along with Green Day’s brand of punk rock. While it’s not their strongest or most ambitious release (see instead American Idiot21st Century Breakdown, and the trilogy), it is refreshingly carefree and fast-paced.

Then, surprising fans everywhere, Green Day put out an EP at the beginning of April. The “Otis Big Guitar Mix” EP features alternate versions of three trilogy songs. Sure, the trilogy came out 8 years ago, but it’s never too late for more goodies from it, right? Hear new mixes of “Lazy Bones,” “Wild One,” and “Oh Love.”

Billie Joe spent much of this year releasing covers of songs. Today, he released them all together in the album No Fun Mondays. See the full tracklist for No Fun Mondays below and be sure to listen to it today!

  1. I Think We’re Alone Now
  2. War Stories
  3. Manic Monday
  4. Corpus Christi
  5. That Thing You Do!
  6. Amico
  7. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
  8. Kids In America
  9. Not That Way Anymore
  10. That’s Rock ‘n’ Roll
  11. Gimme Some Truth
  12. Whole Wide World
  13. Police On My Back
  14. A New England

Note that Green Day’s cover of “Dreaming” (originally by Blondie) does not appear on the album.

Hella Mega Tour

Next year, Green Day plans to embark on their Hella Mega Tour, co-headlining with Fall Out Boy and Weezer. COVID-19 forced them to postpone all dates to 2021. Let’s hope that the pandemic will be over in time for the tour to happen!

Tickets for the Hella Mega Tour are on sale now. Be sure to get tickets before it’s too late! Some dates have already sold out, so don’t wait!

Enjoy The Network’s new “Fentanyl” music video and the whole Trans Am EP. And don’t forget: there’s more where that came from! The Network will share Money Money 2020 Pt II: We Told Ya So! in just one week on December 4th. Today, you can also hear Billie Joe’s No Fun Mondays covers album. Keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.