Evanescence Drop “Yeah Right” & Confirm ‘The Bitter Truth’ Release Date

Evanescence has been teasing their upcoming new album, The Bitter Truth, since at least April this year. After hearing three singles from it – “Wasted On You,” “The Game Is Over,” and “Use My Voice” – today the band is back with another new song and, finally, confirmation of when the album will be out! We can expect to have The Bitter Truth in its entirety on March 26, 2021; it’s available for pre-order now. To mark this momentous day, fans can also hear a new song we’ve been waiting for: “Yeah Right.”  

Frontwoman Amy Lee revealed that this is a song she’d originally written ten years ago for the band’s self-title album. She shared the full story on Instagram, stating:

Yeah right was a song I started 10 years ago with our good friend Will B. Hunt (the other one! Synthesis/DTM etc). After our self titled album went in a different direction and this song was set aside, I made a promise to myself that I wasn’t going to give up on it. I knew it was worth fighting for. Perspectives shifted, lyrics got a new twist, the stars aligned and it finally clicked into place for us as a band on this record. I couldn’t have imagined it like this back then, and I’m so glad we waited for it to become what it is now. I’m so proud! Thank you Will, thank you to my ferocious band for bringing the fire and to Nick Raskulinecz for pushing us to a whole new level. 

Happy release day!

“Yeah Right” opens with a rollicking groove and some tongue-in-cheek lyrics. Amy likens herself to a widow and describes herself as “slap silly happy,” but the chorus introduces new levels of sarcasm and a sick melody. This is perhaps the most rowdy and fun song Evanescence has released, and we’re absolutely loving it.

Listen to new single “Yeah Right” below:

You can stream or download “Yeah Right” from all the major music providers here. Along with the singles “Wasted On You,” “The Game Is Over,” and “Use My Voice,” it will appear on the band’s upcoming album, The Bitter Truth, due March 26th. You can pre-order the album now.

The Bitter Truth will include 12 songs; see the full tracklist below:

  1. Artifact / The Turn
  2. Broken Pieces Shine
  3. The Game Is Over
  4. Yeah Right
  5. Feeding The Dark
  6. Wasted On You
  7. Better Without You
  8. Use My Voice
  9. Take Cover
  10. Far From Heaven
  11. Part Of Me
  12. Blind Belief

In addition to the four singles, one other title will certainly look familiar to fans: “Take Cover.” Evanescence debuted it live in 2016, though it was actually a leftover from their 2011 self-titled album.


The New Album’s Rock Sound

In a September interview with Kerrang!, Amy also divulged a lot about how The Bitter Truth will sound. First and foremost, in case the first four singles weren’t obvious enough, it’s a rock album:

It’s a rock record. We wanted to showcase the strength, fun and power of the band. There’s no holding back. It’s heavy sonically, and it feels good to go heavy. Really good. But it’s not heavy for heavy’s sake.

However, The Bitter Truth offers a lot of other styles and sounds, too. Indeed, fans “haven’t heard all the sounds of the album yet.” Amy mentioned songs with “score-like drama” and “aggressive power,” and even “balls to the wall” moments that came out of Evanescence reconvening this summer after months apart. (Don’t worry, they all got tested for COVID before regrouping together.) At least one song features double bass drumming.

Consider us at Hidden Jams *super* excited to hear the new album! We’ve loved each of the four singles so far, and can’t wait to hear what’s next.

Recent Music from Evanescence & Amy Lee

After releasing Evanescence in 2011, frontwoman Amy Lee went down her own musical path. In 2014, Amy shared her soundtrack album, Aftermath. Two years later, inspired by her young son, Amy released a children’s album, Dream Too Much. Amy also released a 4-song EP of covers featuring songs by Portishead, U2, Led Zeppelin, and Chris Isaak.

In 2017, Amy shared translated cover of “Love Exists,” a reworking of “L’amore esiste” by the Italian singer Francesca Michielin. Also that spring, Amy released her original solo song, “Speak To Me,” for the film Voice From The Stone. More recently, Amy collaborated with violinist Lindsey Stirling’s on the song “Love Goes On And On,” released in September 2019. Last March, Amy’s song with Body Count, “When I’m Gone,” was released. At the end of July, Amy’s newly recording duet of “Break In” with Halestorm came out; its music video arrived in August. Three months ago, Amy appeared on the new song “Sakura Rising” with the Japanese group WagakkiBand. And most recently, in October Amy joined Bring Me The Horizon on their new song, “One Day The Only Butterflies Left Will Be In Your Chest As You March Towards Your Death.”

Apart from Amy’s solo work and duets, Evanescence has also been active in the last few years. In early 2017, Evanescence released a boxset of their three studio albums and b-sides, and later that year we got their electronic-meets-symphonic album, Synthesis. After plenty of touring, they put out Synthesis Live in fall 2018. In November last year, Evanescence shared their cover of Fleetwood Mac’s “The Chain,” releasing its music video in January.

More Evanescence & Amy Lee News

The Return of Evanescence

Evanescence has been actively working on their long-awaited 4th studio album in the past year. They started writing and demoing in spring 2019, and officially began recording earlier this year. They expressed plans to work with several producers. This year, they began with producer Nick Raskulinecz – the same man who produced their last album, Evanescence, in 2011, and mixed “The Chain” last fall.

Although lockdown forced the band to slow down and record separately from their own homes for a while, they were able to spend six weeks together this summer recording. (They got tested for COVID and kept it as safe as possible!)

The band has a major tour coming up with the band Within Temptation. Their World Collide tour will take the two bands across Europe sometime in 2021. It was supposed to happen in April, and then this September, but like all other tours and events, it was delayed due to Coronavius.

Enjoy the new single “Yeah Right,” and get ready to hear all of The Bitter Truth on March 26, 2021. Keep track of all we know about the album here. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Evanescence music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

One thought on “Evanescence Drop “Yeah Right” & Confirm ‘The Bitter Truth’ Release Date

  • December 7, 2020 at 9:20 am

    I miss music videos relying on Vevo thumbnail. Vevo hasn’t been improved since 2018. YouTube screwed over Vevo by putting in repeat like Pink and Universal like Billie Ellish and alienating variety like Evanescence. Why can’t music videos rely on Vevo thumbnail? Vevo really needs variety back and stop relying on repeat like Justin Bieber. I hope Vevo should merge with YouTube Music to make YouTube Vevo. Hey, Hidden Jams. You should make an article about Vevo merging with YouTube Music to make YouTube Vevo. Good luck.


Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.