Avril Lavigne Confirms Her 7th Album is Already Done & Due This Summer

Avril Lavigne’s new album has come together surprisingly quickly! It was only two months ago that we learned Avril was officially recording her seventh album with MOD SUN and producer John Feldmann. We’ve already heard Avril’s collaboration with MOD SUN, “Flames,” which appears on his new album, Internet Killed The Rockstar, due out next Friday. We also have a list of 17 songs that may appear on Avril’s forthcoming record. But yesterday, Avril revealed that we may be hearing them sooner than we’d expected: Her album is already done, and she promises new music by this summer!

She posted a new set of photos on Instagram, showing her on a motorbike on the beach. But in the comments, Avril responded to excited fans asking about new music.

In response to a fan saying he “can’t wait for #AL7,” Avril revealed, “it’s done!!! Music coming soon. For sure summer.”

Avril Lavigne 7 - album done

Then when a fan asked if we’d get a “new album this summer,” Avril confirmed, “songs this summer for sure.”

Avril Lavigne 7 - summer songs

Honestly, we’re shocked Avril recorded — and finished — her new album so fast! Her records Head Above Water and Goodbye Lullaby both saw delays, and we’ve grown accustomed to waiting. But we’re thrilled and happy that we’ll hear Avril’s seventh album so soon! We can hardly wait for this summer.

Recent Studio Time & “Flames”

It was only in December that we learned Avril Lavigne was recording music with MOD SUN and producer John Feldmann. At the end of December, Machine Gun Kelly joined the “jam fam” in the studio. Travis Barker has also been involved. The trio has continued recording music for Avril’s own upcoming album through January. Avril has said it will be more rock than what she’s done recently, and if “Flames” is anything to go by, we can expect that to be true.

Speaking of “Flames,” MOD SUN shared his new single (featuring Avril) early last month. The music video came a few weeks ago, and his full album, Internet Killed The Rockstar, comes out this Friday. It’s a great song, and we can’t wait to hear more where that came from.

Late in January, we learned about 17 new song titles Avril has been working on in the studio. Will these all make it onto her new album? Which ones will be released as singles? Check out the list below and guess away:

  1. Joker
  2. Deja Vu
  3. Love Sux
  4. Avalanche
  5. Me, Myself, & I
  6. Hellelujah
  7. Californyeah! (ft. MOD SUN)
  8. Burn Out
  9. Kiss Me Just Like The World Is Ending
  10. Pity Party
  11. Eternally [note: in Christmas Eve photo, this track shows the word “Happy,” though it’s unclear if that was the full title then]
  12. Dancing With A Hurricane
  13. Bite Me (ft. Marshmello)
  14. Too Free To Live [?]
  15. Boys Lie (ft. Machine Gun Kelly)
  16. Take My Breath
  17. Dare To…. [final words unintelligible]

More From Avril

Avril’s last album, Head Above Water, came out in February 2019. It launched the singles “Head Above Water,” “Tell Me It’s Over,” “Dumb Blonde,” and “I Fell In Love With The Devil.” Last spring, she reworked its closing song, “Warrior,” to fit the COVID-19 pandemic. Renamed “We Are Warriors,” its proceeds have gone to help those in need during this pandemic.

In October, Avril appeared on Tommee Profitt’s new Christmas album, The Birth Of A King, singing an epic cover of “What Child Is This?” 

More Avril Lavigne News

In the last several months, Avril revealed that she’s been writing a lot of new songs during self-isolation. We’re pleasantly surprised that this musical inspiration has turned into a full, completed album so quickly. We’re loving “Flames,” and are excited to hear how Avril’s own new songs will sound, too!

Beyond music, Avril has also stated that she plans to write a cookbook. Avril has talked about her love of cooking for years — at least as far back as Under My Skin in 2004 — and has been sharing Instagram stories from her kitchen lately. We’d be happy to get a new kind of creative project from Avril, and a cookbook sounds great!

These next few months should be exciting, and with any luck, more news about Avril’s new summer album should be imminent. Keep checking back here for all the latest Avril Lavigne music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

2 thoughts on “Avril Lavigne Confirms Her 7th Album is Already Done & Due This Summer

  • November 27, 2021 at 9:49 am

    What do you think of her new single and lead up to her upcoming album, “Bite Me”,?

    • November 27, 2021 at 12:03 pm

      I love “Bite Me”! It’s a fun and energetic song, and it reminds me of mid-2000s Avril. The new music video is great too. I can’t wait for her new album in early 2022!

      (In case you’re wondering about the lack of news updates on Hidden Jams lately (and no news posts about “Bite Me”), it’s because the site is on a brief hiatus. I’ve been burnt out and am refocusing what Hidden Jams is meant to be. In the new year it will return with new types of music-related content, but it won’t be a news site anymore. I hope wonderful readers like you will like the new direction, though! There will still be Avril Lavigne content that I think you’ll like!)


Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.