Sara Bareilles Teases Live Album with Clip of “Fire” Performance

Just one week ago, we were gushing about how generous Sara Bareilles has been with her fans. Following an announcement of some forthcoming EPs, now Sara is teasing another project: a live album! In a pair of Instagram stories last night, Sara offered a sneak peek of the test pressing of a new record. In the clip, we can hear Sara performing her Amidst The Chaos song, “Fire,” at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles on November 2, 2019.

There’s a lot to unpack here. First of all, we didn’t know Sara was going to release a live album! And given that there’s a press testing already, it’s likely we’ll get it sooner rather than later. Stay tuned for news about its title and release date. Second, we don’t know whether this will indeed be a full-length album; it could just be an EP. Despite the lack of clues available, our bet is that it’ll be a full album, Sara’s third in her career so far. Our next question is about the tracklist. Will the album feature recordings all from the same performance, or will it be a collection of recordings from different nights and cities? Will we get all 21-22 songs Sara performed during each night of her tour, or will some songs be cut?

We’re pretty excited to hear Sara’s full live album, likely this spring or summer. One of the highlights of her Amidst The Chaos tour was the mashup of “No Such Thing” with “Satellite Call,” and we’re thrilled we may hear that in a professional recording. With any luck, the album may come with video, too. We sure hope so!

See Sara’s Instagram stories teasing “Fire” and her live album below:

Assuming the live album will feature all the songs Sara performed during her Los Angeles concert, we could be looking at the following as the tracklisting:

  1. “Orpheus” (prologue)
  2. “Fire”
  3. “Poetry For Dead Men”
  4. “Eyes On You”
  5. “I Choose You”
  6. “Love Song”
  7. “Armor”
  8. “If I Can’t Have You” (with Emily King)
  9. “Miss Simone”
  10. “Someone Who Loves Me” (with the Milk Carton Kids)
  11. “Soft Place To Land” (with Butterfly Boucher and Misty Boyce)
  12. “You Matter To Me” (with Solomon Dorsey)
  13. “Bad Idea” (with Butterfly Boucher)
  14. “She Used To Be Mine”
  15. “Uncharted”
  16. “No Such Thing” / “Satellite Call”
  17. “Let The Rain”
  18. “King Of Anything”
  19. “Brave”
  20. “Orpheus” (with T Bone Burnett)
  21. “Gravity”
  22. “Saint Honesty”

This will be Sara’s third live album of her career, following Between The Lines in 2008 and Brave Enough in 2013. She also shared the iTunes Live From SoHo EP in 2011, plus live recordings on her independent releases prior to Little Voice.

We don’t know much about Sara’s forthcoming live album, but we expect to learn more soon. Stay tuned for an announcement of its title, release date, tracklist, and more in the coming weeks.

EPs of Previously Unreleased Songs

The live album isn’t the only thing fans have to look forward to! Just a week ago, Sara casually mentioned her plans to release a few EPs of previously unreleased songs. Wow! Okay, again, a lot to unpack here. In case you didn’t know, Sara has tons of unreleased songs. We have a long list of songs she’s played live, demos that have leaked, and names we’ve heard over the years. There are likely many more songs we don’t know about, too. You can check out our (hopefully mostly accurate) list of unreleased Sara songs here, and let us know what you’re most hoping to hear on the EPs! We’re praying for “Goodbye Song,” “Lights Down,” and “Only Shadows,” among others.

We’re also not sure how many EPs Sara plans to release or how the songs will be divided. Our guess is one EP of leftover songs from each album era. Imagine hearing the songs that were left off of Little Voice, the ones that didn’t make it onto Kaleidoscope Heart, and the songs not on The Blessed Unrest? And if there were any leftovers from Amidst The Chaos, that could make four EPs in total. We shall see!

More Love

Last September, Sara put out her special album, More Love: Songs From Little Voice Season One. As the title suggests, these are songs she wrote that were featured in her lovely Apple TV+ series, Little Voice. While Sara originally wrote some of the songs 15+ years ago, others are newer compositions specifically written for the show.

In many ways, we at Hidden Jams largely think of More Love as its own kind of rarities collection. Several of the songs were leftovers from previous albums. We all know the story behind “Little Voice,” a song that should have been on the 2007 album of the same name. Similarly, “Simple And True” was a song Sara wrote years ago and never released.

Although Sara re-recorded all of the songs last summer, More Love is like a precursor to the upcoming EPs of previously unreleased songs.

More Sara Bareilles News

More from Sara

Prior to More Love, Sara’s last studio album was Amidst The Chaos, released in April 2019. It launched the singles “Armor” and “Fire,” plus promo singles “No Such Thing” and “Saint Honesty.” Later that year, Sara also released the EP, What’s Not Inside: The Lost Songs From Waitress. It followed Sara’s 2015 album, What’s Inside: Songs From Waitress, which featured songs she wrote for the hugely popular Broadway musical, Waitress. The EP features 6 songs that didn’t make it into the musical, plus Sara’s show-stopping ballad, “She Used To Be Mine.”

Speaking of unreleased songs, in November 2019, five mysterious old Sara demos leaked online. She recorded them in the 2000s with Ryan Dusick, formerly of Maroon 5.

In 2020, Sara also appeared in several collaborations. In January 2020, Sara appeared on lovely acoustic version of “Teach You” with Emily King. Last fall, she and Meg Toohey released their song “Lucky Streak,” honoring Broadway star Nick Cordero, who died of COVID in spring 2020. Then in November, Sara joined Todd Carey for an updated acoustic version of his 2007 song “Smile”; Sara had previously sung backup on the original release 13 years prior. That same month, Sara joined Josh Groban for a cover of “Both Sides Now,” originally by Joni Mitchell

Beyond music, Sara can also add acting to her ever-growing resume: Last August, it was announced that Sara will star in a new comedy series called Girls5eva, coming to Peacock in the next year or so. They’ve already shot the full first season, and the show will be available to watch this May.

New Live Album and EPs, Coming Soon!

We don’t yet know when Sara’s live album — or her EPs of previously unreleased songs — will be out, but we’re guessing sometime this spring. In any case, we’re pretty excited. Keep checking back here for all the latest Sara Bareilles music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.