Matt Bellamy Announces Solo Record Store Day Album, ‘Cryosleep’

Muse frontman Matt Bellamy has started sharing solo songs in the past couple of years, including both covers and originals. Now fans will be able to enjoy them together on one album. Matt just announced his first solo album, Cryosleep. The Record Store Day exclusive, out on July 16th, will include 10 tracks. In a new post, Matt described Cryosleep:

The limited-edition picture disc contains ten tracks, including never-before-released ‘Take A Bow (Four Hands Piano)’, ‘Guiding Light (On Jeff’s Guitar)’ and ‘Pray’ (without the Game Of Thrones voice over). Also an exclusive songbook of sheet music, and a gatefold LP.

Cryosleep will feature Matt’s versions of well-known Muse songs, a couple of covers, and his own originals. Many of these fans have already heard in the past couple of years, but some are new arrangements. Check out the full tracklisting for Cryosleep:

  1. Unintended (Acoustic)
  2. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  3. Behold, The Glove
  4. Take A Bow (Four Hands Piano)
  5. Pray
  6. Tomorrow’s World
  7. Guiding Light (On Jeff’s Guitar)
  8. Simulation Theory Theme (Instrumental)
  9. Fever
  10. Unintended (Piano Lullaby)

See Matt’s announcement of Cryosleep below:

Recent Music From Muse & Matt Bellamy

In December 2019, Muse shared a robust boxset of their first two albums, Showbiz and Origin Of Symmetry. Within their Origin Of Muse boxset, fans got not only the first two albums, but also all their b-sides and bonus tracks, live recordings, and a plethora of demos – both of songs we know and songs we’d never heard before. It’s a must-have for any Muse fan.

Since then, 2020 saw Muse release their first movie, Muse – Simulation Theory. The concert film primarily focused on live footage of the band’s September 2019 show at the London 02 Arena, but tied together with an overarching narrative. Matt Bellamy shared two original songs to accompany the film last summer: “Behold, The Glove” and “Simulation Theory Theme.”

Beyond those two solo songs, Matt also put out a few other solo recordings: “Tomorrow’s World,” three acoustic versions of “Unintended,” and a cover of “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” The first solo song we ever got from Matt was “Pray (High Valyrian),” included on the 2019 Game Of Thrones soundtrack album, For The Throne.

Muse’s Next Album

Muse is currently in the studio working on their ninth studio album. There’s no timeframe on when we’ll hear it, but hopefully we’ll get something before the end of this year! It will be the followup to Muse’s incredible 2018 album, Simulation Theory. That record launched the singles “Dig Down,” “Thought Contagion,” “Something Human,” “The Dark Side,” and “Pressure,” plus videos for the songs “Algorithm,” “Break It To Me,” and “Blockades.”

More Muse & Matt Bellamy News

Are you excited to have all of Matt’s solo songs together on Cryosleep? We certainly are, and we’ll be revisiting the three Muse songs before hearing Matt’s new takes on them here. Keep checking back here for all the latest Muse and Matt Bellamy music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.