Avril Lavigne Confirms “Love Sux” for Upcoming Album

Two weeks ago, Avril Lavigne revealed to fans that her upcoming seventh album – due out soon – will open with a song called “Cannonball.” She even shared a line from the song. Now we have one more song confirmed: “Love Sux,” a title that we’d previously seen on a list of songs she’s recorded.

Avril shared a line from the song and indicated that “Love Sux” will be the second track on the album:

“Tired of being cautious, you make me nauseous” LOVE SUX #2

This line sounds like classic, boy-bashing Avril! Maybe “Love Sux” would fit right in on one of her first few albums? What do you think about this line and song title? Share your thoughts in the comments!

Unlike “Cannonball,” which was a new title for us, “Love Sux” is one of the 17 songs we heard about a few months ago. (See the full list below.) We’re excited to see which of the remaining 16 song will also make the cut for Avril’s upcoming album! Which ones do you think will appear on the tracklist?

Check out Avril’s post about “Love Sux” below:

Recent Studio Time & “Flames”

It was only in December that we learned Avril Lavigne was recording music with MOD SUN and producer John Feldmann. At the end of December, Machine Gun Kelly joined the “jam fam” in the studio. Travis Barker has also been involved. The trio continued recording music for Avril’s own upcoming album at least through the winter.

Our first taste of the new music came in early January when MOD SUN shared “Flames,” featuring Avril. The music video arrived a few weeks after that, and his full album, Internet Killed The Rockstar, came out in February. Last month, the pair offered an updated, acoustic rendition of “Flames.” It’s a great song in any format, and we can’t wait to hear more where that came from.

Late in January, we learned about 17 new song titles Avril has been working on in the studio. Will these all make it onto her new album? Which ones will be released as singles? Check out the list below and guess away:

  1. Joker
  2. Deja Vu
  3. Love Sux
  4. Avalanche
  5. Me, Myself, & I
  6. Hellelujah
  7. Californyeah! (ft. MOD SUN)
  8. Burn Out
  9. Kiss Me Just Like The World Is Ending
  10. Pity Party
  11. Eternally [note: in Christmas Eve photo, this track shows the word “Happy,” though it’s unclear if that was the full title then]
  12. Dancing With A Hurricane
  13. Bite Me (ft. Marshmello)
  14. Too Free To Live [?]
  15. Boys Lie (ft. Machine Gun Kelly)
  16. Take My Breath
  17. Dare To…. [final words unintelligible]

Finally, back in February, Avril confirmed that her new album is already done! She suggested that the album will come out this summer. Following our anticipated summer single, that would be a quick but perfect timeline.

More From Avril

Avril’s last album, Head Above Water, came out in February 2019. It launched the singles “Head Above Water,” “Tell Me It’s Over,” “Dumb Blonde,” and “I Fell In Love With The Devil.” One year ago, she reworked its closing song, “Warrior,” to fit the COVID-19 pandemic. Renamed “We Are Warriors,” its proceeds have gone to help those in need during this pandemic.

In October, Avril appeared on Tommee Profitt’s new Christmas album, The Birth Of A King, singing an epic cover of “What Child Is This?” 

More Avril Lavigne News

During the first part of the pandemic, Avril revealed that she’d been writing a lot of new songs while in self-isolation. We are still pleasantly surprised that this musical inspiration has turned into a full, completed album so quickly. We’re loving “Flames,” and are excited to hear how Avril’s own new songs will sound, too!

Beyond music, Avril has also stated that she plans to write a cookbook. Avril has talked about her love of cooking for years — at least as far back as Under My Skin in 2004 — and has been sharing Instagram stories from her kitchen lately. We’d be happy to get a new kind of creative project from Avril, and a cookbook sounds great!

These next few months should be exciting, and with any luck, more news about Avril’s new summer album and forthcoming single should be imminent. Keep up on all we know about Avril’s seventh album here, and keep checking back here for all the latest Avril Lavigne music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

One thought on “Avril Lavigne Confirms “Love Sux” for Upcoming Album

  • May 15, 2021 at 11:10 am

    Sounds exciting. Avril Lavigne deserves to get more attention in the public. I’m getting tired of repeat like Pink dominating people listening to music these days. It’s getting old. I miss people listening to Avril Lavigne. I want general public to hear Head Above Water, very underrated single from 2018. I want to see Avril Lavigne appearing in the US awards. It’s sad that Head Above Water did not get a Grammys nomination or the 2019 MTV VMAs nomination. I hate popular going by repeat like BTS. I miss Avril Lavigne is very popular. At least this album is rock which is awesome.


Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.