Green Day Surprises Fans With New Single, “Pollyanna”

Remember how three days ago, Green Day teased a new song from the studio? Well, that song is out now! In conjunction with some slight changes to their Hella Mega Tour dates (it’s still on for this summer, North America!), Green Day also surprised fans with a new single, “Pollyanna,” along with a lyric video. And spoiler: it’s better than most of Father Of All…

Right away, “Pollyanna” has cheerful energy, building on the intro heard in last Friday’s teaser. It sounds like the classic Green Day we know and love, but reinvigorated with a sugary pop sheen. Both musically and lyrically, this song sounds happy. But are the lyrics too positive? Is it meant to be taken as tongue-in-cheek? Given that “Pollyanna” often refers to “an excessively cheerful or optimistic person,” and can be used as an insult, maybe we shouldn’t take these feel-good lyrics at face value. Still, the song sure sounds fun – perfect for a stadium tour! 😉

The accompanying lyric video is fairly simple, showing stacked videos and images that are small and grainy. Very old-school. The vertical orientation is perfect for watching on a phone.

Watch the lyric video for “Pollyanna” below:

You can stream or download “Pollyanna” from all the major music providers here.

More From Green Day

One year ago, Green Day released their album Father Of All… It featured the singles “Father Of All…,” “Fire, Ready, Aim,” “Oh Yeah!,” and “Meet Me On The Roof.” It’s a fun and straightforward record, weaving in elements of Motown along with Green Day’s brand of punk rock. While it’s not their strongest or most ambitious release (see instead American Idiot21st Century Breakdown, and the trilogy), it is refreshingly carefree and fast-paced.

Last year in April, the band put out the “Otis Big Guitar Mix” EP, featuring alternate versions of three trilogy songs. Sure, the trilogy had come out eight years prior, but it’s never too late for more goodies from it, right? Hear new mixes of “Lazy Bones,” “Wild One,” and “Oh Love.” Then last May, Green Day shared their cover of “Dreaming” by Blondie.

Three months ago, Green Day released their standalone single “Here Comes The Shock.”

Last month, Billie Joe released a 90-minute audiobook called Welcome To My Panic. In it, Billie Joe “chronicles the seminal moments in his life: the trauma and triumphs that have come to define him. As we listen, Billie Joe reminds us punk rock is not about how hard you can play but how hard you can remain yourself.”

New Music From Billie Joe & The Network

Billie Joe spent much of 2020 releasing covers of songs. At the end of November, he released them all together in the album No Fun Mondays. See the full tracklist for No Fun Mondays below:

  1. I Think We’re Alone Now
  2. War Stories
  3. Manic Monday
  4. Corpus Christi
  5. That Thing You Do!
  6. Amico
  7. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
  8. Kids In America
  9. Not That Way Anymore
  10. That’s Rock ‘n’ Roll
  11. Gimme Some Truth
  12. Whole Wide World
  13. Police On My Back
  14. A New England

True fans of Green Day may have noticed that 2020 was a special year. Indeed, their side band The Network had predicted mayhem back in 2003. So Green Day’s timely revival of the group… I mean, their rivals…. was a pleasant diversion. The Network put out a full album in December, Money Money 2020 Pt. II: We Told Ya So! Listen to that, and check out music videos for “Trans Am,” “Flat Earth,” “Fentanyl,” “Threat Level Midnight,” “Asphyxia,” and “Degenerate.”

More Green Day & Billie Joe News

Hella Mega Tour

This summer, Green Day will embark on their Hella Mega Tour, co-headlining with Fall Out Boy and Weezer. COVID-19 forced them to postpone all dates from 2020 to 2021. The dates have been moved around a bit, so check out the current tour dates to see when they’ll be in your city. Tickets for the Hella Mega Tour are on sale now. Be sure to get tickets before it’s too late! Some dates have already sold out, so don’t wait!

Enjoy “Pollyanna,” and get ready for this summer’s Hella Mega Tour! Keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.