Florence + The Machine Release Soundtrack Song, “Call Me Cruella”

The highly anticipated new Disney film Cruella – a spinoff from the beloved 101 Dalmatians movies – is out now. Accompanying the film’s release is a retro soundtrack album featuring songs primarily from the 1960s and 1970s. One new song on it is “Call Me Cruella” by Florence + The Machine, composed and recorded specifically for this movie.

“Call Me Cruella” builds on a thrumming guitar, Florence Welch starting with the familiar melody from the original 101 Dalmatians film. Stepping into the mind of Cruella de Vil, she describes how niceness didn’t work for her. Meanness ended up fitting her much better as she slowly lost her mind. The song builds up to a thrilling crescendo as Florence belts “out of my mind.” Vocal fry near the end further affirms Cruella’s transformation by the song’s close.

The lyric video highlights various scenes from Cruella. From a young woman working in low-level positions to an evil and powerful fashion icon, the video showcases the same transform depicted in the song.

Watch the lyric video for “Call Me Cruella” below:

“Call Me Cruella” appears on the new soundtrack album, Cruella (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack). You can stream or buy the album from all the major music providers here.

The Cruella soundtrack album mostly features well-known classics by the likes of Queen, Nina Simone, Blondie, and more. See the full tracklist below:

  1. “Call Me Cruella” by Florence + The Machine
  2. “Bloody Well Right” by Supertramp
  3. “Whisper Whisper” by Bee Gees
  4. “Five To One” by The Doors
  5. “Feeling Good” by Nina Simone
  6. “Fire” by Ohio Players
  7. “Whole Lotta Love” by Ike & Tina Turner
  8. “Livin’ Thing” by Electric Light Orchestra
  9. “Stone Cold Crazy” by Queen
  10. “One Way Or Another” by Blondie
  11. “Should I Stay Or Should I Go” by The Clash
  12. “I Love Paris” by Georgia Gibbs
  13. “Love Is Like A Violin” by Ken Dodd
  14. “I Wanna Be Your Dog” by John McCrea
  15. “Come Together” by Ike & Tina Turner

The new movie Cruella – starring Emma stone in the title role – is out now. It’s available both in theaters and on Disney+ with Premier Access. The film was directed by Craig Gillespie.

More From Florence + The Machine

Florence + The Machine’s last full album, High As Hope, came in June 2018. It started with the singles “Sky Full Of Song” and “Hunger,” also giving videos to “Big God” and “South London Forever” live. In January 2019, the band shared the High As Hope leftover, “Moderation,” and its more recently recorded b-side, “Haunted House.”

In April 2019, Florence + The Machine shared their haunting version of “Jenny Of Oldstones,” from the final season of Game Of Thrones.

Summer 2020 brought the 10-Year Anniversary rerelease of Lungs, Florence + The Machine’s debut album. It came with numerous bonus tracks and b-sides, plus some previously unheard demos.

One year ago, Florence + The Machine put out a charity single, “Light Of Love,” and donated all proceeds to the Intensive Care Society COVID-19 fund.

Enjoy “Call Me Cruella,” the full soundtrack album, and the movie itself! Keep checking back here for all the latest Florence + The Machine music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.