Muse Announce ‘Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX’ & Share “Citizen Erased”

Can you believe it’s already been 20 years since Muse released their second album? To celebrate the occasion, Muse have a new offering of the album coming our way this summer. They just announced Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX, due digitally in June and physically in July. To further whet fans’ appetites for the new release, we can hear “Citizen Erased (XX Anniversary RemiXX)” today.

Muse shared the following statement about Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX:

This special edition, out on digital formats June 18th and on vinyl July 9th, features renewed clarity with a more open, dynamic and less crushed sound. This highlights parts and ideas previously buried or muted on the original mixes, like a harpsichord on ‘Micro Cuts’ and Abbey Road recorded strings on ‘Citizen Erased’, ⁠⁠‘Megalomania’ and ’Space Dementia’.

Indeed, the strings are sharper on the new version of “Citizen Erased” than ever before. Although the song sounds mostly unchanged, the audio is also noticeably better quality. Every instrument, every detail, is clear. It makes for a much richer listen. Based on “Citizen Erased,” we can’t wait to hear all of Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX this summer!

Listen to the updated “Citizen Erased (XX Anniversary RemiXX)” below:

You can stream or buy “Citizen Erased (XX Anniversary RemiXX)” from all the major music providers here. It will appear on Muse’s updated Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX, out this summer. You can pre-order and pre-save it here now. Digital editions are currently showing two different release dates – June 18th for Amazon Music, June 28th for all other streaming platforms – so it’s unclear what’s going on there. However, the standard and exclusive vinyl will come out on Friday, July 9th.

The full album will feature all 12 original tracks, updated and remixed:

  1. New Born (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  2. Bliss (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  3. Space Dementia (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  4. Hyper Music (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  5. Plug In Baby (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  6. Citizen Erased (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  7. Micro Cuts (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  8. Screenager (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  9. Darkshines (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  10. Feeling Good (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  11. Futurism (XX Anniversary RemiXX)
  12. Megalomania (XX Anniversary RemiXX)

Recent Music From Muse & Matt Bellamy

In December 2019, Muse shared a robust boxset of their first two albums, Showbiz and Origin Of Symmetry. Within their Origin Of Muse boxset, fans got not only the first two albums, but also all their b-sides and bonus tracks, live recordings, and a plethora of demos – both of songs we know and songs we’d never heard before. It’s a must-have for any Muse fan.

Since then, 2020 saw Muse release their first movie, Muse – Simulation Theory. The concert film primarily focused on live footage of the band’s September 2019 show at the London 02 Arena, but tied together with an overarching narrative. Matt Bellamy shared two original songs to accompany the film last summer: “Behold, The Glove” and “Simulation Theory Theme.”

Beyond those two solo songs, Matt also put out a few other solo recordings: “Tomorrow’s World,” three acoustic versions of “Unintended,” and a cover of “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” The first solo song we ever got from Matt was “Pray (High Valyrian),” included on the 2019 Game Of Thrones soundtrack album, For The Throne.

Muse & Matt’s Upcoming Releases

Muse is currently in the studio working on their ninth studio album. There’s no timeframe on when we’ll hear it, but hopefully we’ll get something before the end of this year! It will be the followup to Muse’s incredible 2018 album, Simulation Theory. That record launched the singles “Dig Down,” “Thought Contagion,” “Something Human,” “The Dark Side,” and “Pressure,” plus videos for the songs “Algorithm,” “Break It To Me,” and “Blockades.”

In addition to Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX this summer, Matt Bellamy also has a solo album dropping on Record Store Day on July 16th. Matt described Cryosleep:

The limited-edition picture disc contains ten tracks, including never-before-released ‘Take A Bow (Four Hands Piano)’, ‘Guiding Light (On Jeff’s Guitar)’ and ‘Pray’ (without the Game Of Thrones voice over). Also an exclusive songbook of sheet music, and a gatefold LP.

Cryosleep will feature the following 10 tracks:

  1. Unintended (Acoustic)
  2. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  3. Behold, The Glove
  4. Take A Bow (Four Hands Piano)
  5. Pray
  6. Tomorrow’s World
  7. Guiding Light (On Jeff’s Guitar)
  8. Simulation Theory Theme (Instrumental)
  9. Fever
  10. Unintended (Piano Lullaby)
More Muse & Matt Bellamy News

What do you think of the new version of “Citizen Erased”? Are you excited to hear all of Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX this summer? We’re pretty thrilled, and we really can’t wait for Muse’s next studio album. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Muse and Matt Bellamy music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.