Lana Del Rey Shares “Arcadia” & Confirms ‘Blue Banisters’ Release

Ever since Lana Del Rey released her latest album, Chemtrails Over The Country Club, just six months ago, fans have been gearing up for her next album. Today, we finally have confirmation that Blue Banisters will be out on October 22nd. (The Rock Candy Sweet title is officially scrapped.) We also have a new single, “Arcadia,” which Lana teased in July, along with a music video. The new album will include it as well as the three songs Lana put out in May: “Blue Banisters,” “Text Book,” and “Wildflower Wildfire.” Before we dive into album details, let’s look at the new single.

“Arcadia” is a piano-driven ballad, slow in tempo like nearly all of Lana’s songs lately, but with more passion behind it. Lana sings in metaphors throughout the verses, while the choruses show off a bit more belting than she usually does. This makes it a more impactful song, just as the three released last May were also striking. Already, Blue Banisters is shaping up to be a stronger album than its predecessor.

The accompanying music video is simple and intimate, showing Lana dancing in front of a window and peeling wrappers off of food. Starting in the second verse, Lana is overlaid with cityscape imagery, connecting the lyrics of the song. After “Arcadia” finishes, the video continues on with more homevideo styled footage (harkening back to Lana’s early days); “Interlude – The Trio” plays over this last bit.

Watch the music video for “Arcadia” and “Interlude – The Trio” below:

You can stream or download “Arcadia” from all the major music providers here. It will also appear on Lana’s album, Blue Banisters, out on October 22nd. You can pre-order or pre-save the album here.

Blue Banisters will include 15 songs, four of which have already been officially released. Several others are titles we’ve heard before. First, “Dealer” was originally meant to be on Chemtrails Over The Country Club, and Lana described it as her “just screaming my head off.” Meanwhile, “Cherry Blossom” and “Nectar Of The Gods” were both originally recorded in 2013 for her album Ultraviolence. These and some other songs have also leaked online over the years.

See the full tracklisting of Blue Banisters below:

  1. Text Book
  2. Blue Banisters
  3. Arcadia
  4. Interlude – The Trio
  5. Black Bathing Suit
  6. If You Lie Down With Me
  7. Beautiful
  8. Violets For Roses
  9. Dealer
  10. Thunder
  11. Wildflower Wildfire
  12. Nectar Of The Gods
  13. Living Legend
  14. Cherry Blossom
  15. Sweet Carolina
More Lana Del Rey News

Chemtrails Over The Country Club

With all this talk about Blue Banisters, let’s not forget that Lana just put out an album in March. Chemtrails Over The Country Club isn’t our favorite from her (sorry), but fans are loving it and the album does have its highlights. Songs like “White Dress,” “Dark But Just A Game,” and “Yosemite” are why we love Lana Del Rey.

You can stream or buy Chemtrails Over The Country Club from all the major music providers here. It features the singles “Let Me Love You Like A Woman,” “Chemtrails Over The Country Club,” and “White Dress,” as well as anticipated songs like “Tulsa Jesus Freak,” “Yosemite,” and her cover of Joni Mitchell’s “For Free.”

Upcoming Covers Album & More Music

In November 2020, Lana told fans she would release a new covers album by Christmas. It would include American standards and classics. Lana decided to share this digital album because Chemtrails Over The Country Club had been delayed to 2021. However, the holidays came and went and we still have not gotten any such covers album. We only got Lana’s rendition of “Summertime The Gershwin Version” in November; it may appear on her covers album, if and when it arrives.

Beyond her own music, Lana appeared on an updated version of Matt Maeson’s single “Hallucinogenics” in fall 2020.

Lana also has a film scoring project coming up, which will gift fans even more music. She’s composing for the upcoming film adaptation of Lewis Carroll novel Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland.

Poetry Books

In July 2020, Lana released the audiobook version of her first poetry collection, Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass. The physical and ebook versions were published on September 29th, with the audiobook on CD and vinyl out October 2nd. You can purchase Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass from the major audiobook providers here. Alternately, you can also get the spoken poems on CDvinyl, or picture disc from Lana’s official site. You can also order the hardcover book or ebook from the major book retailers now. Both the hardcover and ebook feature more than 30 poems – over double what was included in the audiobook format.

Lana is set to release her second poetry book, titled Behind The Iron Gates – Insights From An Institution, soon.

Blue Banisters

Enjoy “Arcadia,” and get ready to hear all of Blue Banisters next month on October 22nd. While we wait for the full album, you can enjoy “Blue Banisters,” “Text Book,” and “Wildflower Wildfire,” too. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Lana Del Rey music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.