Ghost – Infestissumam

Ghost 2013

Ghost made quite the impression with Opus Eponymous, and aimed even higher for their second album. Infestissumam was released on April 10, 2013, and was quickly considered one of the best metal albums of the year. It was well-recieved by critics, and reached number 1 on the Billboard Hard Rock Albums chart and number 28 on the overall Billboard 200. While Opus Eponymous was a retro announcement of impending doom, Infestissumam is about the presence of the Devil. Musically, Infestissumam is much more grandiose than its predecessor. It's less guitar-based, and places more emphasis on ominous church choirs and organs. The songs are very diverse; lead single "Secular Haze" is a circus-y waltz straight from an old horror film, while second single "Year Zero" takes the album to epic proportions. "Ghuleh" is a solemn ballad, while its second part, "Zombie Queen," is a dark prom rave. It's an even grander album than the first, and likewise Ghost gained even more deserved recognition for their impressive music. 

Highlights on Infestissumam include "Secular Haze," "Year Zero," "Per Aspera Ad Inferi," and "Ghuleh / Zombie Queen." 



1 Infestissumam A Ghoul Writer  
2 Per Aspera Ad Inferi A Ghoul Writer  
3 Secular Haze A Ghoul Writer  
4 Jigolo Har Megiddo A Ghoul Writer  
5 Ghuleh / Zombie Queen A Ghoul Writer  
6 Year Zero A Ghoul Writer  
7 Body And Blood A Ghoul Writer  
8 Idolatrine A Ghoul Writer  
9 Depth Of Satan's Eyes A Ghoul Writer  
10 Monstrance Clock A Ghoul Writer  
11 La Mantra Mori A Ghoul Writer Deluxe & Japanese Edition Bonus Track 
12 I'm A Marionette  Benny Andersson, Björn Ulvaeus Deluxe & Japanese Edition Bonus Track  
13 Waiting For The Night Martin L. Gore Japanese Edition Bonus Track