Ghost – Opus Eponymous

Ghost 2010

Ghost made their dramatic entrance to the music world with Opus Eponymous, released on October 18, 2010. The Swedish metal band made it clear from the get go that their music was different: The songs are Satanic lyrically, dark musically, and fit together to form a very clear concept. Ghost amplifies that with their look, each member wearing an evil costume. The Nameless Ghouls and "demonic anti-Pope" Papa Emeritus maintain the Satanic theme from their music, making Ghost a complete package. Their debut album impressed many early on, including metal icons like Iron Maiden and James Hetfield from Metallica. Opus Eponymous is a short record with only 9 songs, but they pack quite the punch. They have a fairly retro, early metal sound that could be compared to bands like Black Sabbath. The songs are also surprisingly infectious, sticking in your brain and demanding repeated listens. Opus Eponymous is a stunning album, and the start of what is sure to be an interesting career. 

Highlights on Opus Eponymous include "Con Clavi Con Dio," "Ritual," "Death Knell," and "Prime Mover." 


1 Deus Culpa A Ghoul Writer  
2 Con Clavi Con Dio A Ghoul Writer  
3 Ritual A Ghoul Writer  
4 Elizabeth A Ghoul Writer  
5 Stand By Him A Ghoul Writer  
6 Satan Prayer A Ghoul Writer  
7 Death Knell A Ghoul Writer  
8 Prime Mover A Ghoul Writer  
9 Genesis A Ghoul Writer  
10 Here Comes The Sun George Harrison Japanese Edition Bonus Track