Lana Del Rey – Ultraviolence

Lana Del Rey 2014

Lana Del Rey's second major label album, and the follow-up to 2012's Born To Die, was Ultraviolence, released June 17, 2014. It was led by the single, "West Coast," which starts with a mid-tempo groove before slowing down for its sultry chorus. From the end of May into June, three more promotional singles were released in rapid succession: The chiming "Shades Of Cool" came first, followed by title track "Ultraviolence" and "Brooklyn Baby." These four songs are among the best on the album, and represent its noticeable stylistic change from Born To Die and Paradise. Whereas Lana's previous music was highly produced and incorporated trip hop and R&B, Ultraviolence had a more indie rock sound. You can hear elements of blues, psychedelic rock, and jazz throughout the songs, and the overall mood is much more somber. The songs maintain a rather slow tempo, but they fit together thematically in a way that paints a complete story. Lana was growing as an artist, and it showed. Ultraviolence debuted at number 1 on the Billboard 200 album charts and earned strong reviews from music critics. 

Highlights on Ultraviolence include title track "Ultraviolence," "Shades Of Cool," "Brooklyn Baby," "West Coast," "Cruel World," and bonus track "Black Beauty."  



1 Cruel World Lana Del Rey, Blake Stranathan  
2 Ultraviolence Lana Del Rey, Daniel Heath  
3 Shades Of Cool Lana Del Rey, Rick Nowels  
4 Brooklyn Baby Lana Del Rey, Barrie O'Neill  
5 West Coast Lana Del Rey, Rick Nowels  
6 Sad Girl Lana Del Rey, Rick Nowels  
7 Pretty When You Cry Lana Del Rey, Blake Stranathan  
8 Money Power Glory Lana Del Rey, Greg Kurstin  
9 F****d My Way Up To The Top Lana Del Rey, Daniel Heath  
10 Old Money Lana Del Rey, Daniel Heath, Robbie Fitzsimmons  
11 The Other Woman Jessie Mae Robinson  
12 Black Beauty Lana Del Rey, Rick Nowels Deluxe Edition Bonus Track 
13 Guns And Roses Lana Del Rey, Rick Nowels Deluxe Edition Bonus Track
14 Florida Kilos Lana Del Rey, Dan Auerback, Harmony Korine Deluxe Edition Bonus Track
15 Is This Happiness Lana Del Rey, Rick Nowels iTunes Store Bonus Track
16 Flipside Lana Del Rey, Blake Stranathan Japanese, Spotify, and Target Edition Bonus Track