No Doubt – The Beacon Street Collection

No Doubt 1995

Because of the low sales of No Doubt's self-titled first album, their label, Interscope, did not provide funding for their second album. Instead, the band recorded their new album in their own home studio and released it on their own independent label, Beacon Street Records. The Beacon Street Collection was released on March 25, 1995, and was led by the singles "Squeal" and "Doghouse." No Doubt had gone in a more raw, straightforward direction that was less new wave and more ska punk and punk rock. Listeners seemed to like the new sound, because The Beacon Street Collection sold 100,000 copies - triple that of its major label predecessor. The success led to Interscope funding No Doubt's third album, Tragic Kingdom, later that year. The Beacon Street Collection was eventually re-released on October 21, 1997, and still represents a major turning point in No Doubt's music and career. 

Highlights on The Beacon Street Collection include "Open The Gate," "Stricken," "By The Way," and "Greener Pastures." 



1 Open The Gate Gwen Stefani, Eric Stefani, Tony Kanal, Tom Dumont  
2 Blue In The Face Eric Stefani  
3 Total Hate (feat. Bradley Nowell) John Spence, Bradley Nowell, Chris Leal, Gabriel Gonzalez   
4 Stricken Gwen Stefani, Eric Stefani, Tony Kanal, Tom Dumont  
5 Greener Pastures Gwen Stefani, Tony Kanal  
6 By The Way Gwen Stefani, Tom Dumont  
7 Snakes Gwen Stefani, Tony Kanal  
8 That's Just Me Eric Stefani, Eric Keyes  
9 Squeal Eric Stefani  
10 Doghouse Eric Stefani