Editors – Black Gold: Best Of Editors

Album Details

  • Album Title: Black Gold: Best Of Editors 
  • Release Date: October 25, 2019
  • Recording Dates: February 2019 - March 2019
  • Producer: Jacknife Lee
  • Lead Single: "Frankenstein" (June 14, 2019)
  • Second Single: "Black Gold" (September 5, 2019)
  • Tracklist:
Editors - Black Gold

After releasing six studio albums, Editors is ready to release their first greatest hits compilation! The band began recording new tunes in February 2019, working with producer Jacknife (the same man who produced their sophomore album, An End Has A Start).

Then, in late May 2019, the band debuted a new song called "Frankenstein" live. The studio version of the song was released as a single on June 14, 2019.

The same weekend they premiered it live, frontman Tom Smith revealed in an interview that Editors were preparing a greatest hits album. He said that there would be a few new songs on it, and we safely presumed "Frankenstein" was one of them. Additional known song titles included "Black Gold" and "Upside Down."

On September 5, 2019, Editors made the big announcement: They will release Black Gold: Best Of Editors on October 25th. It will feature 13 singles from the band's six albums: The Back Room (2005), An End Has A Start (2007), In This Light And On This Evening (2009), The Weight Of Your Love (2013), In Dream (2015), and Violence (2018). Additionally, the compilation features three new songs: "Frankenstein," "Upside Down," and "Black Gold." Deluxe editions of the album come with a bonus disc featuring 8 acoustic tracks. Finally, orders of the physical album (CD or vinyl) from Editors' official site come with a bonus CD: The Snowfield Demos, first released in 2003.

Along with the announcement, Editors also shared their stomping new song, "Black Gold." It comes in a full 5 minutes version and a 3:41 edit.

Get ready for Black Gold: Best Of Editors, our on October 25th!

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.