Evanescence – Synthesis

Album Details

  • Album TitleSynthesis 
  • Release Date: November 10, 2017 
  • Recording Dates: May 2017 - August 2017  
  • Lead Single: "Imperfection" (September 15, 2017)
  • Expected Sound: Orchestral/electronic versions of past songs 
  • Tracklist:
    • Overture
    • Never Go Back – from Evanescence
    • Hi-Lo
    • My Heart Is Broken – from Evanescence
    • Lacrymosa – from The Open Door 
    • The End Of The Dream – from Evanescence
    • Bring Me To Life – from Fallen
    • Unraveling (Interlude)
    • Imaginary – from Fallen
    • Secret Door – from Evanescence
    • Lithium – from The Open Door
    • Lost In Paradise – from Evanescence
    • Your Star – from The Open Door
    • My Immortal – from Fallen
    • The In-Between (Piano Solo)
    • Imperfection

It's been a while since Evanescence released any new music. Their last full album, Evanescence, came out in October 2011, producing singles like "What You Want" and "My Heart Is Broken." After touring for the album, the band went on hiatus.

Frontwoman Amy Lee had a son named Jack Lion with her husband and pursued a number of music projects without the band. In 2014, she released a solo album called Aftermath, comprised of music she had written for the independent film War Story. In late 2015, she shared four covers of well-known songs before releasing them as an EP the following January. In September 2016, Amy released a second solo album, this time made up of children's music. Called Dream Too Much, it included some original songs mixed with covers. In early 2017, Amy released an English-language cover of an Italian song called "Love Exists," followed by an original song called "Speak To Me" for the new film Voice From The Stone. Amy has also composed a new song "Through Your Eyes" for the upcoming film Blind

Evanescence, meanwhile, had some significant internal changes. The band left Wind-up Records, making them independent for the first time in over a decade. Guitarist Terry Balsamo left the band in 2015, and was replaced by Jen Majura. Evanescence has toured here and there over the years, and debuted a new old song called "Take Cover" in 2016. That song is a leftover from the early Evanescence studio sessions. In early 2017, the band released a vinyl boxset of all their albums - including Origin and a collection of previously released bonus tracks and two new recordings.

Now Evanescence is finally together to make new music this year. First up is a special project called Synthesis. This new album will reimagine old Evanescence songs with symphonic and electronic instrumentation, stripping away the distorted drums and rock guitars in place of woodwinds, brass, and strings. David Campbell helped the band on this special album. In addition to newly recorded versions of old songs, Synthesis will also include two new songs. 

On August 18, 2017, Evanescence shared the new version of "Bring Me To Life." A brand new song, called "Imperfection," was released on September 15th. Synthesis will be out on November 10, 2017, and will include 16 tracks. In addition to “Imperfection,” the other new song is “Hi-Lo,” a leftover from the early Evanescence recording sessions of 2010. The album includes new versions of three Fallen tracks, three The Open Door songs, and five from Evanescence

In 2018, Evanescence plans to release a standard studio album of new music.