K’naan – 5th Studio Album

Album Details

  • Album Title: TBD
  • Release Date: Late 2019 or 2020
  • Recording Dates: November 207 - Present
  • Writing Dates: 2016 - Present
  • Lead Single: TBD
  • Known Songs:
    • "Bad At Love" (title unconfirmed)
    • "Come To America"
    • "Disgraceland"
    • "Don't Call Me Up
    • "Gentrification"
    • "Ha Ha" (title unconfirmed)
    • "Hide And Seek"
    • "Those Were The Days" (title unconfirmed)
  • Expected Sound: Perfect
  • Expected Themes: Political issues; reflections on Somalia; relationships
  • Collaborators: Kyan; Krucial Keys
K'naan 2019

It's been seven years since K'naan released his last album, Country, God, Or The Girl. While many loved it - us at Hidden Jams included - it seems K'naan wasn't so proud of the album and what he said on it. K'naan spent some time focusing on other endeavors, included the writing, direction, and production of an HBO series called Mogadishu, Minnesota. Although it was scheduled for a 2017 release, it was, unfortunately, canceled before it began.

Our first new K'naan song in a few years came with "Immigrants (We Get The Job Done)," appearing on the 2016 album The Hamilton Mixtape. In summer 2017 the song also got a music video.

In 2017, K'naan also began recording his new album. He previewed two songs, known to be titled "Come To America" and "Hide And Seek." He also previewed several other songs; while we don't know the titles of any, we're tentatively referring to some of them as "Ha Ha," "Those Were The Days," and "Bad At Love." See all the clips we know of in the "Making the Album" video series, recorded between November 2017 and January 2018.

K'naan has kept quiet about the new music for a few years, but in summer 2019, he began playing some new songs live. We've heard the titles "Don't Call Me Up" and "Disgraceland," but have yet to hear these new tunes. Another unreleased song is "Gentrification," which K'naan performed live in early 2014.

At this point, it seems K'naan's new album must be imminent. We're hoping for an announcement soon, with a release date ideally in late 2019.