The Weeknd – After Hours

Album Details

  • Album Title: After Hours
  • Release Date: March 20, 2020
  • Recording Dates: Late 2018 - Late 2019
  • Writing Dates: Late 2018 - Late 2019
  • Lead Single: "Heartless," released 11/26/2019
  • Second Single: "Blinding Lights," released 11/29/2019
  • Third Single: "After Hours," released 2/19/2020
  • Fourth Single: "Scared To Live," performed 2/7/2020
  • Expected Sound: Continuation of Starboy sound, '80s synth pop, R&B, moody, dark
  • Expected Themes: Personal struggles, substance use, breakups, love, fame, money
The Weeknd - After Hours - album cover 2020

Following his 2016 album Starboy, The Weeknd decided to take more time before his next album. He recorded several collaborations with other artists, and dropped his 6-track EP, My Dear Melancholy, to tide fans over in March 2018. But at the end of 2019, a full three years after his last full-length album, The Weeknd started his next album era.

On November 26th, The Weeknd shared his R&B single "Heartless," followed by the more pop single "Blinding Lights" just three days later. Both got dazzling music videos, in December and January, respectively. But still The Weeknd kept mum on what the next album was called and when we'd hear it.

Luckily, on February 13th we got part of the answer. That day, The Weeknd announced that his new album is called After Hours. The following week, on February 19th, The Weekend unveiled the album cover art and confirmed that the album would be out on March 20, 2020. That same day, he also released "After Hours" and a partial tracklisting; the singles were confirmed to be tracks 7, 9, and 13, respectively. The last song we heard before the album came out was "Scared To Live," which The Weeknd performed live on SNL on March 7th.

After Hours comes out on March 20, 2020, featuring 15 new songs.