Vanessa Carlton – Love Is An Art

Album Details

  • Album Title: Love Is An Art 
  • Release Date: March 27, 2020
  • Recording Dates: January - April 2019
  • Mixed: April 2019
  • Mastered: May 2019
  • Lead Single: "Future Pain," out 11/22/2019
  • Second Single: "The Only Way To Love," out 1/17/2020
  • Third Single: "Miner's Canary," out on 2/21/2020
  • Tracklisting:
    • I Can’t Stay The Same
    • Companion Star
    • I Know You Don’t Mean It
    • Die Dinosaur
    • Love Is An Art
    • Future Pain
    • Back To Life
    • Patience
    • The Only Way To Love
    • Salesman
    • Miner’s Canary
    • Break To Save [Bonus Track]
  • Expected Sound: Trip to the moon
  • Known Collaborators: Tristen
  • Producer: Dave Fridmann
  • Engineer: Mike Fridmann
  • Musicians: Skye Steele, Patrick Hallahan, Adam Landry
Vanessa Carlton - Love Is An Art - album cover

Following a drawn-out marketing and touring cycle for her 2015 album, Liberman, Vanessa Carlton was already writing new songs by the beginning of 2017. That March, she debuted a new song called "Love Is An Art," later saying that it may be the title track for her next album.

Vanessa spent 2018 placating fans with a series of six covers, ranging from Robyn's "Call Your Girlfriend" to the 1960s folk tune "Little Bit Of Rain." Upon releasing the final cover - "Lonely Girls" - that August, Vanessa suggested that her covers may give a sneak peek into what her own new music would sound like.

She began recording her album on January 23, 2019, completing tracking by February 4th. The album was mixed in April, and on May 27th, it was mastered and completed. This is when Vanessa confirmed that her forthcoming 6th record will be called Love Is An Art. She shared a clip of its title track and a song called "Patience," which she first previewed in 2012.

Before releasing the new record, Vanessa played Carole King in the Broadway musical Beautiful from June 27th through September 1st.

On November 22nd, Vanessa shared her first single, "Future Pain." (PAPER premiered it the day prior.) Then, on January 17, 2020, Vanessa shared "The Only Way To Love." With it, it was confirmed that Love Is An Art will come out on March 27, 2020, and we got the official tracklisting, including 11 songs plus a bonus track. Shortly thereafter, Vanessa premiered "I Know You Don't Mean It" live, then released "Miner's Canary" as the third single for the album.

In the final days before the album came out, Vanessa previewed and performed a few more songs: "Salesman" and "Die, Dinosaur."

Love Is An Art came out on March 27, 2020.

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.