Kelly Clarkson – 8th Studio Album

Album Details

  • Album Title: TBD
  • Release Date: Mid-2020
  • Recording Dates: January 2019 - Present
  • Lead Single: "I Dare You," expected March/April 2020
  • Expected Sound: Mixture of Breakaway, Stronger, and Meaning Of Life albums; pop-rock but still soulful
  • Possible Song Titles:
    • "I Dare You"
    • "Something New"
    • "Step Up"
kelly clarkson 2019 vegas

In 2017, Kelly Clarkson released her 7th studio album, Meaning Of Life. Her first with her new label, Atlantic Records, the album demonstrated a much more soulful style in contrast to her previous work in the pop-rock realm.

Early in 2019, Kelly was already working on her next album, also with Atlantic. So far, she's squeezed in studio time between her many other projects - The Voice, preparing her own talk show The Kelly Clarkson Show, hosting the Billboard Music Awards, starring as Moxy in the animated film UglyDolls, recording several songs for its soundtrack... her list of jobs is endless! Nonetheless, Kelly has already made progress on what will be her 8th studio album (Wrapped In Red and her greatest hits compilations notwithstanding).

In May 2019, Kelly revealed that her new album sounds "as if Meaning Of Life and Breakaway and Stronger had a baby. Like all three of those albums had a baby. It’s a little bit more pop, but it’s still got the soulful stuff in there." Kelly's not coming to play! There was previously speculation that she'd finally release the country album she's been promising for over a decade, but apparently that will still have to wait. We love pop-rock and soulful Kelly, so we're happy with the direction she's currently going in.

Two song titles have already surfaced online, though it's unclear if they're meant for her album: "Something New" and "Step Up."

In early 2020, Kelly will release a new single, among her "favorite songs" of her career. It's been registered online as "I Dare You To Love."

At this point, it's too early to say when Kelly's next album will come out. It seems that she's been recording part time so far, and with all her many tasks lately, it may slow down the recording process. She's not yet done recording, despite the upcoming single release. The album should be out in mid- to late-2020.

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.