Avril Lavigne – 7th Studio Album

Album Details

  • Album Title: TBA
  • Release Date: Fall 2021
  • Recording Dates: December 2020 – January/February 2021
  • Writing Dates: Early 2019 – January/February 2021
  • Lead Single: TBA; expected in summer or fall 2021
  • Confirmed Tracklist:
    • Cannonball
    • Love Sux
  • Other Known Song Titles:
    • Joker
    • Deja Vu
    • Avalanche
    • Me, Myself, & I
    • Hellelujah
    • Californyeah! (ft. MOD SUN)
    • Burn Out
    • Kiss Me Just Like The World Is Ending
    • Pity Party
    • Eternally [note: earlier entry shows “Happy,” though it’s unclear if that was the full title then]
    • Dancing With A Hurricane
    • Bite Me (ft. Marshmello)
    • Too Free To Live [?]
    • Boys Lie (ft. Machine Gun Kelly)
    • Take My Breath
    • Dare To…. [final words unintelligible]
  • Expected Sound: More rock and pop punk, lots of electric guitar, live drums, uptempo, no ballads
  • Expected Themes: Relationships, empowerment, love, breakups
  • Collaborators: MOD SUN, John Feldmann, Machine Gun Kelly, Travis Barker

Avril’s last album, Head Above Water, came out in February 2019. It launched the singles “Head Above Water,” “Tell Me It’s Over,” “Dumb Blonde,” and “I Fell In Love With The Devil.” In spring 2020, she reworked its closing song, “Warrior,” to fit the COVID-19 pandemic. Renamed “We Are Warriors,” its proceeds have gone to help those in need during this pandemic. That October, Avril appeared on Tommee Profitt’s new Christmas album, The Birth Of A King, singing an epic cover of “What Child Is This?”

In the last several months, Avril revealed that she’s been writing a lot of new songs during self-isolation. By December 2020, she had entered the studio to write and record with MOD SUN and John Feldmann. Later in the month, Machine Gun Kelly was also in the studio with them. Avril has stated that she’s recording more rock music for her next album.

On January 8, 2021, MOD SUN released his new single “Flames” featuring Avril. It’s his third single for his upcoming fourth album, Internet Killed The Rockstar, out February 12th. However, it’s unclear if it will also appear on Avril’s next album.

While there’s not an exact timeframe for when we’ll get to hear Avril’s own new music, it’s great to know that she’s feeling inspired and recording new material. We’re loving “Flames,” and are excited to hear how her album will sound, too!

In late January, we discovered 17 new song titles from Avril’s studio blackboard. Any number of these may appear on her upcoming album! It looks like we may be hearing new music sooner than later!

By early February, Avril confirmed that she was finished recording her album! In the first two weeks of February, Avril revealed that her album will indeed be more rock, it’s expected out in summer, and the lead single may come out in spring or summer.

At the end of April, Avril announced that a song called “Cannonball” will be the first track on her album. A couple weeks later, she confirmed “Love Sux” as track #2. In both cases, she also revealed some lyrics. Avril continued sharing song lyrics approximately once a month into the summer, though the titles became less clear.

On July 16th, Willow Smith released her new album, lately I feel EVERYTHING, including the song “G R O W” with Avril and featuring Travis Barker. A music video for it is expected to come out soon.

Keep checking back here for all the latest updates on Avril’s upcoming 7th studio album. It should still be out by the end of this year.