Evanescence – 4th Studio Album

Album Details

  • Album Title: TBD
  • Release Date: Late 2020
  • Writing Dates: May 2019 - Present
  • Recording Dates: January 2020 - Present
  • Lead Single: TBD; by April 2020
  • Expected Sound: More rock than Synthesis but incorporating some of the symphonic and electronic elements more fully; comparable to The Open Door; diverse
  • Known Producers: Nick Raskulinecz
Evanescence 2017 Synthesis

It’s been eight years since Evanescence released their last studio album of original material. But although it’s been a while, the band have kept fairly busy. Frontwoman Amy Lee put out two solo albums: the largely instrumental Aftermath and a children’s record called Dream Too Much. In early 2017, the band released a boxset of their three studio albums and b-sides, and later that year we got their electronic-meets-symphonic album, Synthesis. After plenty of touring, they put out Synthesis Live in fall 2018. But what about an album of all-new music? Luckily, Evanescence was entering into a “creation year,” and over Memorial Day weekend in May 2019, they began writing for their next album.

By early 2020, the writing was nearly done, and the band said they had a good collection of songs prepared. Amy Lee said that they'd record the songs in batches, working with different producers to ensure a diverse sound. In January 2020, they recorded some songs with Nick Raskulinecz, who previously produced their 2011 album, Evanescence.

Amy has also said the band plans to release songs as they go instead of making fans wait until the full album is done. We can expect to hear some new songs as early as this spring, with more to come until the album's completion.

Evanescence is aiming to release their new album by the end of 2020, though we wouldn't be surprised if it slides into 2021.

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.