Green Day Announces ‘BBC Sessions’ & Shares “2000 Light Years Away”

If you’re craving some new Green Day recordings – and admit it, of course you are – you’re in luck! The band just announced their upcoming compilation album, BBC Sessions. Due out on December 10th, the compilation features 16 songs, taken from four separate recording sessions, that Green Day performed for BBC between 1994 and 2001. The first song we get to hear today is their performance of “2000 Light Years Away,” a song that originally appeared on Kerplunk! in 1992.

This recording of “2000 Light Years Away” is remarkably true to the studio recording. It just proves how on-point Green Day have always been as performers. The accompanying video features an array of photos Green Day had orginally included in their 2001 greatest hits album, International Superhits!

Watch the video for Green Day’s BBC Live Session of “2000 Light Years Away” below:

You can stream or buy “2000 Light Years Away (BBC Live Session)” from all the major music providers here. It will also appear on Green Day’s BBC Sessions album, due out on December 10th. You can pre-order or pre-save the album here.

The album will include performances of various songs from Green Day’s back catalogue, spanning from Kerplunk! through Warning. The recordings are all from between 1994 and 2001. On June 8, 1994, they performed “2000 Light Years Away” and three songs from Dookie. Then during their November 3, 1996 visit, all four songs were taken from their album Insomniac. On February 2, 1998, the four selections were from their then new album, Nimrod. Finally, the four Warning songs were recorded on August 23, 2001.

Check out the full tracklisting:

  1. She
  2. When I Come Around
  3. Basket Case
  4. 2000 Light Years Away
  5. Geek Stink Breath
  6. Brain Stew / Jaded
  7. Walking Contradiction
  8. Stuck With Me
  9. Hitchin’ A Ride
  10. Nice Guys Finish Last
  11. Prosthetic Head
  12. Redundant
  13. Castaway
  14. Church On Sunday
  15. Minority
  16. Waiting

BBC Sessions will be out on December 10th.

More From Green Day

Early in 2020, Green Day released their album Father Of All… It featured the singles “Father Of All…,” “Fire, Ready, Aim,” “Oh Yeah!,” and “Meet Me On The Roof.” It’s a fun and straightforward record, weaving in elements of Motown along with Green Day’s brand of punk rock. While it’s not their strongest or most ambitious release (see instead American Idiot21st Century Breakdown, and the trilogy), it is refreshingly carefree and fast-paced.

That April, the band put out the “Otis Big Guitar Mix” EP, featuring alternate versions of three trilogy songs. Sure, the trilogy had come out eight years prior, but it’s never too late for more goodies from it, right? Hear new mixes of “Lazy Bones,” “Wild One,” and “Oh Love.” Then in May 2020, Green Day shared their cover of “Dreaming” by Blondie.

In February, Green Day released their standalone single “Here Comes The Shock.” They released another new song, “Pollyanna,” in May, then offering up a music video in August. They ended the summer with a live recording of “Rock And Roll All Night,” as performed during the Hella Mega Tour. The band also re-released their 1995 album Insomniac last March, including eight live recordings.

More Green Day & Billie Joe News

More From Billie Joe & The Network

Billie Joe spent much of 2020 releasing covers of songs. At the end of November, he released them all together in the album No Fun Mondays. See the full tracklist for No Fun Mondays below:

  1. I Think We’re Alone Now
  2. War Stories
  3. Manic Monday
  4. Corpus Christi
  5. That Thing You Do!
  6. Amico
  7. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
  8. Kids In America
  9. Not That Way Anymore
  10. That’s Rock ‘n’ Roll
  11. Gimme Some Truth
  12. Whole Wide World
  13. Police On My Back
  14. A New England

True fans of Green Day may have noticed that 2020 was a special year. Indeed, their side band The Network had predicted mayhem back in 2003. So Green Day’s timely revival of the group… I mean, their rivals…. was a pleasant diversion. The Network put out a full album last December, Money Money 2020 Pt. II: We Told Ya So! Listen to that, and check out music videos for “Trans Am,” “Flat Earth,” “Fentanyl,” “Threat Level Midnight,” “Asphyxia,” and “Degenerate.”

In April of this year, Billie Joe released a 90-minute audiobook called Welcome To My Panic. In it, Billie Joe “chronicles the seminal moments in his life: the trauma and triumphs that have come to define him. As we listen, Billie Joe reminds us punk rock is not about how hard you can play but how hard you can remain yourself.”

BBC Sessions

Enjoy the new BBC Live Session of “2000 Light Years Away,” and get ready for more each week between now and December 10th. At that point, Green Day’s full BBC Sessions compilation album will be out for your listening pleasure. Keep checking back here for all the latest music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.