Hear “High Dive” From New Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness Album

Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness will be releasing his self-titled debut album in just a month, and now you can hear a second song from the record. “High Dive” is an upbeat, reflective song that looks back on Andrew’s early adulthood. He first performed it back in July, and the studio version fully lives up to the expectations:

It’s a brilliant song, isn’t it? It’s available for immediate download when you pre-order the album. Andrew talked about the inspiration behind “High Dive” to Buzzfeed:

When I found out I was ill, nearly 10 years ago now, my wife, then girlfriend, and I had just begun the process of reconciling after being separated. We married in the midst of my recovery and left the beach towns where we grew up to hide out in Los Angeles. Moving back to the beach in 2011 began the process of closing the loop on that chapter of my life and forced me to revisit lose ends. In “High Dive” I found myself asking the question, “if this wild disruption had never taken place what would that reconciliation have looked like? Would I be the guy driving by her house late at night, hoping to catch a glimpse of her, but knowing I couldn’t come in?” In its most universal sense it’s about loving someone so much that you’ll take anything they’re willing to give even if it’s not enough.

This follows the first single, “Cecilia And The Satellite,” which debuted in July.

Both songs will appear on Andrew’s debut album, Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness. You can see the full track list below:

  1. Canyon Moon
  2. Cecilia And The Satellite
  3. High Dive
  4. All Our Lives
  5. See Her On The Weekend
  6. Black And White Movies
  7. Driving Through A Dream
  8. Halls
  9. Rainy Girl
  10. Maps For The Getaway

Buzzfeed revealed more about the album and a song called “See Her On The Weekend”:

Much of McMahon’s upcoming album, Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness, was written in the summer of 2013 at a Topanga Canyon cabin with no running water where he stayed alone. “I would work 10 hours a day just sitting at my piano,” he said. On weekends, he traveled home to be with his wife, who had just found out she was pregnant. This experience inspired “See Her on the Weekend,” a long-distance love song with lyrics about his girl being back home with morning sickness and biding time until Friday rolls around.

Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness will be released on October 14th. You can pre-order it on iTunes, or if you are interested in some physical bundles, check out your options on Andrew’s official website. Keep checking back here for more from Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.