Of Monsters And Men Celebrate Album Release With “Wars” Lyric Video

Today Of Monsters And Men just released their third studio album, Fever Dream. Following singles “Alligator” and “Wild Roses,” the band is celebrating the release with a lyric video for their new song, “Wars.”

In contrast to both the previous two singles, “Wars” doesn’t showcase Nanna Hilmarsdóttir’s vocals. Instead, co-lead vocalist Ragnar Þórhallsson sings here. Raggi comes in strong and instant, his voice characteristically soft. While the verses sound like typical fare for him – comparable of popular indie bands like Bon Iver – his voice grows more loose and fun on the energetic, poppy choruses. By then, it sounds more like Foster The People. “Wars” sounds free and joyful in spite of its lyric about love being a “cruel war.”

The lyric video for “Wars” is, like that for “Wild Roses,” abstract and colorful. We watch as brightly hued liquids fall up and drizzle through a hazy atmosphere. At times it looks like paint, but upside down. At others, it takes on the appearance of planets in space, if more flat and liquid than the globes in our solar system.

Watch the lyric video for “Wars” below:

Along with “Alligator” and “Wild Roses,” “Wars” appears on the new Of Monsters And Men album, Fever Dream, released today. You can stream or download the album from all the major music providers here.

Fever Dream features 11 new songs. Check out the full tracklisting below.

  1. Alligator
  2. Ahay
  3. Róróró
  4. Waiting For The Snow
  5. Vulture, Vulture
  6. Wild Roses
  7. Stuck In Gravity
  8. Sleepwalker
  9. Wars
  10. Under A Dome
  11. Soothsayer

Of Monsters And Men’s last album, Beneath The Skin, came out in 2015. Fever Dream, out today, is their third record.

In addition to playing and replaying the new record, you can also look forward to seeing Of Monsters And Men live. The band will tour Europe between October and November, starting in Dublin and ending in Barcelona. Find dates and get tickets here while you still can!

Enjoy the new “Wars” lyric video and, indeed, the whole album! Let us know your favorite Fever Dream songs in the comments! And as always, keep checking back here for all the latest Of Monsters And Men music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.