Evanescence Discuss New Album in ‘Embracing The Bitter Truth’ Documentary

It’s been a decade, but it was all worth the wait: Today, Evanescence finally released their new album, The Bitter Truth. It’s an incredible record, heavier than any of their previous albums, but still dreamy and anthemic. To make the album release extra special, today Evanescence also put out a short documentary, entitled Embracing The Bitter Truth.

The format is fairly straightforward. Each of the five band members, plus producer Nick Raskulinecz, were interviewed at length about the recording process. In between shots of their respective interviews, we also see shots of the band recording in the studio and clips from their music videos. The result is an honest and raw portrait of what it took to makeThe Bitter Truth, from its innocent beginnings in spring 2019 through the challenge that the COVID pandemic posed.

Ten years is a long time between studio albums. After releasing their special project Synthesis in 2017 — then touring in support of it and releasing Synthesis Live the following year — Evanescence was itching to make new music. And in contrast to the orchestral nature of Synthesis, they were ready to rock. All started well over Memorial Day weekend in May 2019. Things continued to go smoothly through February 2020, at which point the band had recorded four songs with Nick Raskulinecz.

But then March 2020 arrived, and with it, a global pandemic that had reached the US. Lockdown derailed everything, from Evanescence’s lead single plans (it was originally going to be “Use My Voice” that we heard first) to how they would be able to continue recording the album. But Evanescence is resilient and determined, and they were among the first bands to adapt to our new conditions.

In April 2020, they released “Wasted On You” as the lead single, along with one of the first lockdown music videos. That summer, they took their commitment to the next level when they all got tested for COVID and sequestered themselves in a studio together.

Throughout Embracing The Bitter Truth, we see just how passionate all five band members — and Nick! — are about the new music. We learn how they made the most of a difficult year, how they worked both together and separately, and how music saved them. Indeed, their new album may be saving us fans, too.

It’s an excellent documentary that you won’t want to miss. Check out a preview of Embracing The Bitter Truth below:

You can stream Embracing The Bitter Truth exclusively from The Coda Collection on Amazon Prime here. Look out for news of a wider release.

Evanescence’s brand new album, The Bitter Truth, just came out today. You can stream or buy the album from all the major music providers here. The album features the singles “Wasted On You,” “The Game Is Over,” “Use My Voice,” “Yeah Right,” and “Better Without You.” 

The Bitter Truth includes 12 songs; see the full tracklist below:

  1. Artifact / The Turn
  2. Broken Pieces Shine
  3. The Game Is Over
  4. Yeah Right
  5. Feeding The Dark
  6. Wasted On You
  7. Better Without You
  8. Use My Voice
  9. Take Cover
  10. Far From Heaven
  11. Part Of Me
  12. Blind Belief
More Evanescence & Amy Lee News

Enjoy the full Embracing The Bitter Truth documentary, and be sure to listen to all of The Bitter Truth, out now! Catch up on all that went into making the album here. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Evanescence music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.