Evanescence Honor Album Release with “Better Without You” Lyric Video

Today, Evanescence released their long-awaited new album, The Bitter Truth. Fans waited a full decade for this, but it was all worth it: The album is incredible. The last single we heard before its release was the defiant “Better Without You.” The band is currently recording its official music video, but to commemorate their album’s release, they offered fans something special. Learn the lyrics with its gritty new lyric video.

The first ten seconds of “Better Without You” open with a delicate music box sound, but it’s not long before it pulses into mayhem. With punchy guitars and an aggressive soundscape behind her, Amy sings low on the verses. She paints a picture of a powerless girl signing away her future, but she knows the truth. The song explodes into a powerful chorus, both strong and dreamy. The chorus then fades out with a hypnotic vocal cascade. “Better Without You” is one of the most rocking songs on the band’s new album, and perhaps the most balanced between Evanescence’s different styles. 

The new lyric video for “Better Without You” highlights the contrast between emerging growth and slow death. Sometimes we see caterpillars forming chrysalises to become butterflies; we see nature blooming in a peaceful forest. But at other instances, we see flowers wilting, papers burning into ashes, and cabins becoming decrepit. The video’s style feels very 1990s, which actually fits the vibe of Evanescence’s new album. It’s a mesmerizing visual despite only being a lyric video.

Watch the lyric video for “Better Without You” below:

“Better Without You” appears on Evanescence’s brand new album, The Bitter Truth. You can stream or buy the album from all the major music providers here. The album also features the singles “Wasted On You,” “The Game Is Over,” “Use My Voice,” and “Yeah Right.” 

The Bitter Truth includes 12 songs; see the full tracklist below:

  1. Artifact / The Turn
  2. Broken Pieces Shine
  3. The Game Is Over
  4. Yeah Right
  5. Feeding The Dark
  6. Wasted On You
  7. Better Without You
  8. Use My Voice
  9. Take Cover
  10. Far From Heaven
  11. Part Of Me
  12. Blind Belief

Along with the new album, Evanescence also released a documentary. Be sure to watch Embracing The Bitter Truth for an inside look at how the band recorded their new music.

More Evanescence & Amy Lee News

Enjoy the new single “Better Without You,” and be sure to listen to all of The Bitter Truth, out now! Catch up on all that went into making the album here. As always, keep checking back here for all the latest Evanescence music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.