CHVRCHES Drop “How Not To Drown” With Robert Smith & Announce ‘Screen Violence’

Following their single “He Said She Said” in April, CHVRCHES are now back with the second song off their upcoming album, “How Not To Drown” featuring Robert Smith of The Cure. After debuting yesterday, today the song gets an accompanying music video. Furthermore, fans can now circle the big day on their calendar: CHVRCHES’ new album, Screen Violence, is due out on August 27th!

“How Not To Drown” opens with a fuzzy hip-hop beat and a background of atmospheric synths. Frontwoman Lauren Mayberry describes a book she’s writing about how to stay conscious under water. Imagery of crowns and royalty further illustrate the urge to escape from a toxic environment. The chorus is defined by a descending vocal melody as she attests to how stuck she really is. Robert Smith takes on the second verse, later adding depth to the second chorus with his harmonies. The song fades out with an extended, dreamlike outro, pushing the song to five and a half minutes.

The music video for “How Not To Drown” continues with what “He Said She Said” introduced. Lauren faceplants into the same developing photo and we see the spinning machine from before. Likewise, the glitchy vibes are back in full force here. Snapshots of Lauren’s face become horrifying when the image melts down. Her bandmates Iain Cook and Martin Doherty get more screen time here, and of course, Robert Smith appears from his own caged screen. Images of falling microphones and festering wounds add to the eerie vibe of this experiential video.

Watch the music video for “How Not To Drown” below:

You can stream or buy “How Not To Drown” from all the major music providers here. Along with “He Said She Said,” it will appear on CHVRCHES’ new album, Screen Violence, due on August 27th. You can pre-order or pre-save the album here and get instant access to the first two singles.

Screen Violence will feature 10 songs:

  1. Asking For A Friend
  2. He Said She Said
  3. California
  4. Violent Delights
  5. How Not To Drown
  6. Final Girl
  7. Good Girls
  8. Lullabies
  9. Nightmares
  10. Better If You Don’t


CHVRCHES’ last album, Love Is Dead, came out in May 2018. It launched the singles “Get Out,” “My Enemy,” “Never Say Die,” and “Miracle.” That November, they also released Hansa Session, an EP of acoustic and string quartet versions of five songs off Love Is Dead.

In 2019, CHVRCHES released two more singles: “Here With Me,” a collaboration with Marshmello, and “Death Stranding,” part of the soundtrack for the video game of the same name.

Enjoy “How Not To Drown” featuring Robert Smith, as well as CHVRCHES’ previous single, “He Said She Said.” The band’s album, Screen Violence, will be out on August 27th, so get ready for an exciting summer. Keep checking back here for all the latest CHVRCHES music news.

Hidden Jams

Hidden Jams is a music blog for super fans. Check out our new merch store for all of us who love music. Click "Hidden Jams" above or the image on the left to see our store.

Hidden Jams has 1450 posts and counting. See all posts by Hidden Jams

Sound Off!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.